Pantoprazole
Sold as Pantoloc, Pantoloc I.V., Topzole, Peptazol, Hexal pantoprazole iv, Topraflux iv, Pentoz, Pantocid, Conoran, Ran-pantoprazole, Peploc, Aspen pantoprazole iv, Peploc otc, Pantoprazole PD, Viapan, Topraflux, Pantoprazole unicorn, Aspen pantoprazole, Pantor, Mylan-pantoprazole, Topzole otc, Prazoloc otc, Medpro pantoprazole, Prazoloc, Prazoloc iv, Cipla pantoprazole iv, Ivacid iv, Pantoprazole specpharm, Pantoprazole covan, Nolpaza, Pentoz otc, Panflux otc, Panflux, Propintor iv, Ulcevan, Pantoprazole mr austell, Pazipep otc, Adco pantoprazole, Pantoprazole propan, Prazant, Kimloc, Avidek, Topraflux otc, Pantoprazole otc unicorn, Prazant iv, Prazgen otc, Panzolym otc, Hepraloc iv, Pantoprazole iv hetero, Pantoprazole viatris, Pantocid otc, Pantor otc, Pantoprazole iv austell
6-(Difluoromethoxy)-2-[(3,4-dimethoxy-2-pyridinyl)methylsulfinyl]-1H-benzimidazole
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 4679.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 23
- Registrations
- 73
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Takeda (Pty) Ltd1 of 6 cancelled | Pantoloc, Pantoloc I.V., Topzole, Topzole otc | 20, 40 | 280407, 330041, 340005, 380060, 380061, 431001 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacorp (Pty) Ltd | Peptazol | 20 mg, 40 mg | 410099, 430090 | S4S2 to S4 by pack | PIPIL |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Hexal pantoprazole iv | Not stated | 410344 | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sandoz SA (Pty) Ltd1 of 7 cancelled | Topraflux iv, Topraflux, Pantoprazole unicorn, Topraflux otc, Pantoprazole otc unicorn | 20, 20mg/40mg, 40 | 410345, 430483, 430484, 430485, 430486, 520142, 520143 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Dr Reddyãs Laboratories (Pty) Ltd, Dr Reddyõs Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Pentoz, Pentoz otc | 20mg, 40 | 410641, 410642, 450592 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd1 of 3 cancelled | Pantocid, Conoran, Pantocid otc | 20mg, 40 | 410787, 411116, 570190 | S4S2 to S4 by pack | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelled | Conoran, Ran-pantoprazole | 20, 40 | 411115, 411117, 411118 | Not determined | None |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd1 of 4 cancelled | Peploc, Peploc otc, Pantoprazole PD | 20 mg, 40 mg, tablet | 420056, 420057, 430344, 430345 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited, Mylan (Pty) Ltd1 of 6 cancelled | Aspen pantoprazole iv, Aspen pantoprazole, Propintor iv, Ulcevan, Prazgen otc | 20 mg, 40 mg | 420313, 430545, 430546, 460450, 480763, 54/0663 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Safeline Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Viapan | Not stated | 430439 | Not determined | None |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Pantor, Pantor otc | 40 | 430697, 570538 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Mylan (Pty) Ltd | Mylan-pantoprazole, Prazgen otc, Panzolym otc | 20 mg, 40 mg | 430843, 430844, 540739, 540740.739 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd.1 of 9 cancelled | Prazoloc otc, Medpro pantoprazole, Prazoloc, Prazoloc iv, Cipla pantoprazole iv, Panflux otc, Panflux | 20 mg, 40 mg | 431145, 431146, 431147, 431148, 440305, 440306, 460195, 460197, 460198 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Ivacid iv, Pantoprazole mr austell, Pazipep otc, Pantoprazole iv austell | 40 mg | 440480, 481012, 481015, 600914 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Specpharm (Pty) Ltd | Pantoprazole specpharm | 40 | 440840 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) LtdCancelled | Pantoprazole covan | injection | 440982 | Not determined | None |
| LHC Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Nolpaza | 20, 40 | 450461, 450462 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Adco pantoprazole, Pantoprazole propan | 20, 40 | 481228, 481229, 481230, 481231 | Not determined | None |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Prazant, Prazant iv | 20 | 500078, 530013 | Not determined | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Kimloc, Avidek | 20 mg, 40 mg | 511126.124, 511127.125, 511128.124, 511129.125 | Not determined | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Hepraloc iv, Pantoprazole iv hetero | 40 | 560881, 560882.881 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Pantoprazole viatris | 20 mg | 561119 | Not determined | None |
| Servier Laboratories South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Pantoprazole viatris | 40 mg | 561120 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pantoloc 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40Enteric-coated tablets | 28040728/11.4.3/0407Approved 18 February 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pantoloc I.V. EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 33004133/11.4.3/0041 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pantoloc 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20Enteric-coated tablets | 34000534/11.4.3/0005Approved 18 February 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Topzole 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 38006038/11.4.3/0060 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Topzole 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 38006138/11.4.3/0061 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Peptazol 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgEnteric coated tablets | 41009941/11.4.3/0099Approved 9 April 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Hexal pantoprazole iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 41034441/11.4.3/0344 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Topraflux iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 41034541/11.4.3/0345 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pentoz 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20Delayed release film-coated tablet | 41064141/11.4.3/0641Approved 27 January 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Pentoz 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40Delayed release film-coated tablet | 41064241/11.4.3/0642Approved 27 January 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Pantocid 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVANT TO PANTROPRAZOLE20,0 mg | 20Enteric coated tablets. | 41078741/11.4.3/0787Approved 23 February 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Conoran 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 41111541/11.4.3/1115 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Conoran 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 41111641/11.4.3/1116 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ran-pantoprazole 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 41111741/11.4.3/1117 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ran-pantoprazole 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 41111841/11.4.3/1118 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Peploc 20 MG tablet EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgTablet | 42005642/11.4.3/0056 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Peploc 40 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 42005742/11.4.3/0057 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Aspen pantoprazole iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 42031342/11.4.3/0313 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Peptazol 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgEnteric coated tablets | 43009043/11.4.3/0090Approved 9 April 2024 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Peploc otc tablet EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Tablet | 43034443/11.4.3/0344 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole 40 MG PD EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgGastro-resistant tablet. | 43034543/11.4.3/0345Approved 5 November 2024 | Cancelled | S4 | PIPIL |
| Viapan EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 43043943/11.4.3/0439 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Topraflux 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 43048343/11.4.3/0483 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Topraflux 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 43048443/11.4.3/0484 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole unicorn 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20mg/40mgTablets | 43048543/11.4.3/0485Approved 13 December 2021 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pantoprazole unicorn 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 20mg/40mgTablets | 43048643/11.4.3/0486Approved 13 December 2021 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Aspen pantoprazole 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mg | 43054543/11.4.3/0545 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Aspen pantoprazole 40 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 43054643/11.4.3/0546 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantor 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: Pantoprazole Sodium Sesquihydrate equivalent to Pantoprazole 40,0 mg | 40 | 43069743/11.4.3/0697 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mylan-pantoprazole 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mg | 43084343/11.4.3/0843 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mylan-pantoprazole 40 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 43084443/11.4.3/0844 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Topzole otc EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 43100143/11.4.3/1001 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prazoloc otc EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgEnteric-coated tablets | 43114543/11.4.3/1145Approved 1 July 2026 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Medpro pantoprazole 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 43114643/11.4.3/1146 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prazoloc-20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 43114743/11.4.3/1147 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prazoloc-40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 43114843/11.4.3/1148 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prazoloc 40 iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgPowder for solution for I.V. Injection/infusion | 44030544/11.4.3/0305Approved 4 February 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Cipla pantoprazole 40 iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 44030644/11.4.3/0306 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ivacid iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS: PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 44048044/11.4.3/0480 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole specpharm 40 EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 44084044/11.4.3/0840 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole covan injection EACH 15,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Injection | 44098244/11.4.3/0982 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Nolpaza 20 Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE (AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 20,0 mg | 20 | 45046145/11.4.3/0461 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nolpaza 40 Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE (AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 40,0 mg | 40 | 45046245/11.4.3/0462 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pentoz otc 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20mgDelayed release film-coated tablet | 45059245/11.4.3/0592Approved 27 January 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Panflux otc Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgGastro-resistant tablets | 46019546/11.4.3/0195 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Panflux 20 Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 46019746/11.4.3/0197 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Panflux 40 Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 46019846/11.4.3/0198 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Propintor iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 46045046/11.4.3/0450 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ulcevan | 20 mgEnteric coated tablets. | 48076348/11.4.3/0763Approved 12 February 2024 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Pantoprazole mr 40 MG austell Each Tablet contains: Pantoprazole (As sodium Sesquihydrate) 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 48101248/11.4.3/1012 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pazipep otc EACH TABLET CONATINS: PANTROPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 48101548/11.4.3/1015 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco pantoprazole 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 48122848/11.4.3/1228 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco pantoprazole 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 48122948/11.4.3/1229 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole propan 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 48123048/11.4.3/1230 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole propan 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 48123148/11.4.3/1231 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Prazant 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE(AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 20,0 mg | 20 | 50007850/11.4.3/0078 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Kimloc 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE (AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 20,0 mg | 20 mg | 511126.12451/11.4.3/1126.124 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Kimloc 40 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE (AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 511127.12551/11.4.3/1127.125 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Avidek 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE (AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 20,0 mg | 20 mg | 511128.12451/11.4.3/1128.124 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Avidek 40 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE (AS SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE) 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 511129.12551/11.4.3/1129.125 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Topraflux otc Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 52014252/11.4.3/0142 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole otc unicorn Each tablet contains PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 52014352/11.4.3/0143 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prazant iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS PANTROPRAZOLE SODIUM SEQUITHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | Not listed | 53001353/11.4.3/0013 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prazgen otc ODIUM BICARBONATE; ARTARIC ACID; CITRIC ACID & ODIUM CITRATE | 20 mgModified release tablet | 54/066354/18.3/0663Approved 24 January 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Prazgen otc PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE | 20 mgModified release tablet | 54073954/11.4.1/0739Approved 24 January 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Panzolym otc PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE | 20 mgModified release tablet | 540740.73954/11.4.1/0740.739Approved 24 January 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Hepraloc 40 iv EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUTHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 56088156/11.4.3/0881 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole 40 iv hetero EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUTHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 560882.88156/11.4.3/0882.881 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole 20 MG viatris EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUTHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mg | 56111956/11.4.3/1119 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole 40 MG viatris EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUTHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mg | 56112056/11.4.3/1120 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantocid otc EACH TABLET CONTAINS PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUTHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20mgGastro-resistant tablets | 57019057/11.4.3/0190Approved 11 March 2025 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Pantor otc EACH TABLET CONTAINS: PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 570538 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pantoprazole 40 MG iv austell EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: PANTOPRAZOLE SODIUM SESQUIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO PANTOPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgPowder for solution for injection. | 60091460/11.4.3/0914Approved 28 October 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Pantoprazole
S4: Pantoprazole
- except when intended for the temporary short-term relief of heartburn and hyperacidity, subject to:
- a maximum daily dose of 20 milligrams (S2); and
- a maximum treatment period of 14 days. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7479 to 7482
S2: Pantoprazole
- when intended for the temporary short-term relief of heartburn and hyperacidity, subject to:
- maximum daily dose of 20 milligrams
- maximum treatment period of 14 days. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2482 to 2486
Pharmacological class: Other. (class 11.4.3)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Pantoloc 40, Takeda (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.