Omeprazole
Sold as Omepracote, Losec, Altosec, Losec mups, Omez otc, Omeprazole DRL, Omez, Nozer, Sandoz omeprazole, *Omexor, Adco omeprazole, Accord-omeprazole, Omeprazole-safeline, Omiloc ivi, Omiflux, Probitor, Corpocid, Lokit otc, Lokit od, Omehet, Floriteor, Omeprazole hetero, Tumsigon, Gazigon, Gazigon otc, Rapacid mr, Gastrogard, Rapacid, Adco-omeprazole
6-Methoxy-2-[(4-methoxy-3,5-dimethyl-2-pyridinyl)methylsulfinyl]-1H-benzimidazole
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 4594.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 16
- Registrations
- 44
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kyron Animal Health (Pty) Ltd | Omepracote | Not stated | 06/02 | Not determined | None |
| Equity Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Astrazeneca Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd, Equity Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd.3 of 6 cancelled | Losec, Losec mups | 10 mg, 20 mg, 40 | 290410, 320222, 320223, 320224, V0193, Z0098 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) Ltd2 of 3 cancelled | Altosec | 10, 20 mg, 40 mg/10 ml | 320087, 320703, A400192 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Dr Reddyõs Laboratories (Pty) Ltd, Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Omez otc, Omeprazole DRL, Omez | 10, 20 mg, 40 | 340296, 340297, 340298, 340299, 340300, 340301 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Nozer, Gazigon, Gazigon otc | 20 mg | 360420, 560792.791, 560848.847 - R | S4S2 to S4 by pack | PIPIL |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sandoz SA (Pty) Ltd | Sandoz omeprazole, Omiflux, Probitor | 20 mg | 360430, 430457, 430458 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | *Omexor | Not stated | 360446 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Adco omeprazole, Rapacid mr, Rapacid, Adco-omeprazole | 10 mg, 20, 40 mg | 370228, 560913, 560914, 560915, A390466, A390467 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Accord Healthcare (Pty) LtdCancelled | Accord-omeprazole | 40 mg | 410663 | Not determined | None |
| Safeline Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Omeprazole-safeline | 40 mg | 420515 | Not determined | None |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Omiloc ivi | 40 | 420600 | Not determined | None |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Corpocid | 10, 20 mg, 40 | 430502, 560835, 560836, 560837 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd. | Lokit otc, Lokit od | 20mg, 40 | 540021, 540022, 540023 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Omehet, Floriteor, Omeprazole hetero | 20 | 540268, 540269.268, 540270.268 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Tumsigon | 20 mg | 560791 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Gastrogard | Not stated | A05/08 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omepracote EACH SYRINGE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 2,28 g | Not listed | 06/0206/8.4.3/02 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Losec 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10Tablet | 29041029/11.4.3/0410Approved 29 June 2015 | Cancelled | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Altosec 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgCapsules | 32008732/11.4.3/0087Approved 25 February 2023 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Losec mups 10 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE MAGNESIUM EQUIVALENT TO OMEPRAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10 mg | 32022232/11.4.3/0222 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Losec mups 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE MAGNESIUM EQUIVALENT TO OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mg | 32022332/11.4.3/0223 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Losec mups 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE MAGNESIUM EQUIVALENT TO OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40Film-coated tablets. | 32022432/11.4.3/0224Approved 14 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Altosec 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10 | 32070332/11.4.3/0703 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Omez otc 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10 | 34029634/11.4.3/0296 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Omez otc 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 34029734/11.4.3/0297 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Omeprazole DRL 40 Each Capsule contains: Omeprazole 40 mg | 20 mg.Capsule. | 34029834/11.4.3/0298Approved 5 December 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Omez 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10Capsule | 34029934/11.4.3/0299Approved 23 April 2024 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Omez 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20Capsule | 34030034/11.4.3/0300Approved 23 April 2024 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Omez 40 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40Capsule | 34030134/11.4.3/0301Approved 23 April 2024 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Nozer EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 36042036/11.4.3/0420 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz omeprazole 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgCapsule | 36043036/11.4.3/0430Approved 4 July 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| *Omexor EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | Not listed | 36044636/11.4.3/0446 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco omeprazole 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS :OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 37022837/11.4.3/0228 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Accord-omeprazole 40 MG injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgInjection | 41066341/11.4.3/0663 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Omeprazole-safeline injection 40 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgInjection | 42051542/11.4.3/0515 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Omiloc 40 ivi EACH VIAL CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 42060042/11.4.3/0600 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Omiflux 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 43045743/11.4.3/0457 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Probitor 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 43045843/11.4.3/0458 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Corpocid 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgCoated tablet | 43050243/11.4.3/0502Approved 15 April 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Lokit otc EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20mgCapsule | 54002154/11.4.3/0021Approved 5 October 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Lokit od 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20Hard gelatine capsules | 54002254/11.4.3/0022Approved 12 October 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Lokit od 40 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 40Hard gelatine capsules | 54002354/11.4.3/0023Approved 12 October 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Omehet EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE (FORM-B) 20,0 mg | Not listed | 54026854/11.4.3/0268 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Floriteor 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE (FORM-B) 20,0 mg | 20 | 540269.26854/14.4.3/0269.268 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Omeprazole 20 hetero EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE (FORM-B) 20,0 mg | 20 | 540270.26854/11.4.3/0270.268 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Tumsigon EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgCapsules | 56079156/11.4.3/0791Approved 28 June 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Gazigon EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 mgCapsules | 560792.79156/11.4.3/0792.791Approved 28 June 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Corpocid 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10 mg | 10 | 56083556/11.4.3/0835 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Corpocid 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20 | 56083656/11.4.3/0836 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Corpocid 40 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 | 56083756/11.4.3/0837 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gazigon otc | 20 mgCapsules | 560848.847 - R56/11.4.3/0848.847Approved 28 June 2022 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Rapacid mr 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10 mg | 10Hard gelatine capsules | 56091356/11.4.3/0913Approved 25 August 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Rapacid mr 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20Hard gelatine capsules | 56091456/11.4.3/0914Approved 25 August 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Rapacid mr 40 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40Hard gelatine capsules | 56091556/11.4.3/0915Approved 25 August 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Gastrogard EACH SYRINGE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 2,28 g | Not listed | A05/08A05/11.5/08 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Rapacid EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10 mgCapsules | A390466Approved 24 January 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Adco-omeprazole 40 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS: OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mgCapsule | A390467A39/11.4.3/0467Approved 24 January 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Altosec 40 mg/10 ML EACH VIAL CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40,0 mg | 40 mg/10 ml | A400192A40/11.4.3/0192 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Losec 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 20 mg | 20Tablet | V0193V/11.4.3/193Approved 29 June 2015 | Cancelled | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Losec 40 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS OMEPRAZOLE 40 mg | 40Tablet | Z0098Z/11.4.3/98Approved 29 June 2015 | Cancelled | Not determined | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Omeprazole magnesium equivalent to omeprazole
S4: Omeprazole
- except when intended for the temporary, short-term relief of heartburn ans hyperacidity, subject to:
- a maximum daily dose of 20 milligrams
- a maximum treatment period of 14 days. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7392 to 7395
S2: Omeprazole
- when intended for the temporary, short-term relief of heartburn and hyperacidity, subject to:
- a maximum daily dose of 20 milligrams
- a maximum treatment period of 14 days. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2457 to 2461
Pharmacological class: Other. (class 11.4.3)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.