Nevirapine
Sold as Cipla nevirapine, Aspen nevirapine, Bio-nevirapine, Adco-nevirapine, Bindopin, Nevivir, Nevimune for, Macleods nevirapine, Nevirapine viatris, Nevirapine litha, Nepraz, Vari-nevirapine, Sonke-nevirapine, Viropon
2-Cyclopropyl-7-methyl-2,4,9,15-tetrazatricyclo[9.4.0.03,8]pentadeca-1(11),3,5,7,12,14-hexaen-10-one
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 4463.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 13
- Registrations
- 19
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cipla nevirapine, Nevimune for | 50 mg, 100 mg | 360423, 450817, 450818 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Aspen nevirapine | 200 mg, suspension | 380240, A390262 | S4 | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Bio-nevirapine | 200 | 410230 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Adco-nevirapine | tablets | 410235 | S4 | None |
| Aurobindo Pharma (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Bindopin | 50 mg/5 ml, 200 mg | 420466, 430287 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Nevivir | Not stated | 430230 | S4 | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Macleods nevirapine | 200 mg | 450886 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Nevirapine viatris | 200 mg | 460005 | S4 | None |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Nevirapine litha, Nepraz | Not stated | 480028, 480029 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd | Cipla nevirapine | oral suspension | A380339 | S4 | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Vari-nevirapine | 200 mg | A390112 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelled | Sonke-nevirapine | tablets | A400341 | S4 | None |
| Novagen Pharma (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Viropon | 50 mg/5 ml, 200 mg | A400382, A400490 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cipla nevirapine EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | Not listed | 36042336/20.2.8/0423 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Aspen nevirapine 200 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mg | 38024038/20.2.8/0240 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bio-nevirapine 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 41023041/20.2.8/0230 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco-nevirapine tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS :NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | Tablets | 41023541/20.2.8/0235 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bindopin tablets 200 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgTablets | 42046642/20.2.8/0466 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Nevivir EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | Not listed | 43023043/20.2.8/0230 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bindopin suspension 50 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 50,0 mg | 50 mg/5 mlSuspension | 43028743/20.2.8/0287 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Nevimune 50 MG tablets for oral suspension EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgTablets oral suspension | 45081745/20.2.8/0817 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Nevimune 100 MG tablets for oral suspension EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 100,0 mg | 100 mgTablets oral suspension | 45081845/20.2.8/0818 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Macleods nevirapine 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgTablets | 45088645/20.2.8/0886Approved 23 May 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Nevirapine 200 MG viatris EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mg | 46000546/20.2.8/0005 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Nevirapine litha EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | Not listed | 48002848/20.2.8/0028 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Nepraz EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | Not listed | 48002948/20.2.8/0029 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cipla nevirapine oral suspension EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 50,0 mg | Oral suspension | A380339A38/20.2.8/0339 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Vari-nevirapine 200 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mg | A390112A39/20.2.8/0112 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Aspen nevirapine suspension EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 50,0 mg | Suspension | A390262A39/20.2.8/0262 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Sonke-nevirapine tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | Tablets | A400341A40/20.2.8/0341 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Viropon 200 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgTablets | A400382A40/20.2.8/0382 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Viropon 50 mg/5 ML oral suspension EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS NEVIRAPINE 50,0 mg | 50 mg/5 mlOral suspension | A400490A40/20.2.8/0490 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Nevirapine
S4: Nevirapine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7245
Pharmacological class: Antiviral agents. (class 20.2.8)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Macleods nevirapine 200, Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.