Skip to content
zameds

Naproxen

Sold as Pranoxen, Napgesic, Nafasol ec, Be-tabs naproxen, Compu naproxen, Napinaflam, Mylan-naproxen, Naproscript, *Naproxen unimed, Fibroxyn, Noritis, Synflex, Aleve, Go pain naproxen, Garec-naproxen sodium, Proflex, Naproxen bliss, Mer-naproxen, Mer-naproxen ds, Naproxen oethmaan, Napflam, Bio-naproxen, Adco naproxen, Adco-naproxen, Nafasol, Soladoc, Stopflam

Loading the molecular structure
C14H14O3230.26 g/mol

(2S)-2-(6-Methoxynaphthalen-2-yl)propanoic acid

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 156391.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
15
Registrations
37

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Adcock ingram limitedCancelledPranoxen, Adco naproxen, Adco-naproxen250 mg, 500 mg270144, X0156, X0157Not determinedNone
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdNapgesicNot stated270202Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmead5 of 10 cancelledNafasol ec, Compu naproxen, Fibroxyn, Garec-naproxen sodium, Napflam, Nafasol, Soladoc250 mg, 275 mg, 500 mg, suppositories270437, 270438, 270573, 280370, 280371, 310275, W0153, Y0131, Y0177, Z0065Not determinedNone
Svizera SA (Pty) LtdBe-tabs naproxen250270534Not determinedNone
Trinity Pharma (Pty) LtdNapinaflam250 mg280038Not determinedNone
Viatris Healthcare (Pty) LtdMylan-naproxen500 mg280039Not determinedNone
Ascendis Pharma (Pty) LtdNaproscript, Synflex250, 275, 500, 550280044, 280045, 300374, Q0318Not determinedNone
Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd*Naproxen unimed, Noritis250, 500280340, 290725, 290726Not determinedNone
Bayer (Pty) Ltd û IsandoCertificate held by Bayer (Pty) LtdAleve220 mg310145Not determinedPIPIL
Pharmacorp (Pty) LtdGo pain naproxen275310274Not determinedNone
Triomed (Pty) LtdCancelledProflex250, 500310635, 310636Not determinedNone
Bliss Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdNaproxen bliss250 mg, 500 mgM0518, U0074Not determinedNone
The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelledMer-naproxen, Mer-naproxen ds, StopflamNot statedV0333, V0334, Z0134Not determinedNone
Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) LtdNaproxen oethmaan250, 500W0133, X0341Not determinedNone
Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdBio-naproxen250, 500W0436, W0437Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Pranoxen

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

Not listed27014427/3.1/0144CancelledNot determinedNone
Napgesic

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

Not listed27020227/3.1/0202RegisteredNot determinedNone
Nafasol ec - 250

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 MG

- 25027043727/3.1/0437RegisteredNot determinedNone
Nafasol ec - 500

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 MG

- 50027043827/3.1/0438RegisteredNot determinedNone
Be-tabs naproxen 250*

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

25027053427/3.1/0534RegisteredNot determinedNone
Compu naproxen

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

Not listed27057327/3.1/0573CancelledNot determinedNone
Napinaflam 250 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

250 mg28003828/3.1/0038RegisteredNot determinedNone
Mylan-naproxen 500 MG

TABLET NAPROXEN 500 MG

500 mg28003928/3.1/0039RegisteredNot determinedNone
Naproscript 250

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

25028004428/3.1/0044RegisteredNot determinedNone
Naproscript 500

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

50028004528/3.1/0045RegisteredNot determinedNone
*Naproxen 500 unimed

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

50028034028/3.1/0340RegisteredNot determinedNone
Fibroxyn 250 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250,0 mg

250 mg28037028/3.1/0370CancelledNot determinedNone
Fibroxyn 500 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500,0 mg

500 mg28037128/3.1/0371CancelledNot determinedNone
Noritis 250

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

25029072529/3.1/0725RegisteredNot determinedNone
Noritis 500

TABLET NAPROXEN 500 MG

50029072629/3.1/0726RegisteredNot determinedNone
Synflex 550

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN SODIUM 550 mg

55030037430/3.1/0374RegisteredNot determinedNone
Aleve

PER CAPSULE NAPROXEN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO NAPROXEN 200 mg

220 mgTablets.31014531/2.7/0145Approved 20 December 2020RegisteredNot determinedPIPIL
Go pain naproxen 275

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN SODIUM 275,0 mg

27531027431/3.1/0274RegisteredNot determinedNone
Garec-naproxen sodium 275 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN SODIUM 275,0 mg

275 mg31027531/3.1/0275CancelledNot determinedNone
Proflex 250

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250,0 mg

25031063531/3.1/0635CancelledNot determinedNone
Proflex 500

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500,0 mg

50031063631/3.1/0636CancelledNot determinedNone
Naproxen 250 MG bliss

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

250 mgM0518M/3.1/518RegisteredNot determinedNone
Synflex 275

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN SODIUM 275 mg

275Q0318Q/3.1/318RegisteredNot determinedNone
Naproxen 500 MG bliss

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

500 mgU0074U/3.1/74RegisteredNot determinedNone
Mer-naproxen*

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

Not listedV0333V/3.1/333CancelledNot determinedNone
Mer-naproxen ds*

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

Not listedV0334V/3.1/334CancelledNot determinedNone
Naproxen 250 oethmaan

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250,00 mg

250W0133W/3.1/133RegisteredNot determinedNone
Napflam 250 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

250 mgTabletsW0153W/3.1/153RegisteredNot determinedNone
Bio-naproxen 250

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

250W0436W/3.1/436RegisteredNot determinedNone
Bio-naproxen 500

EACH TABLET CONTAINS:NAPROXEN 500 mg

500W0437W/3.1/437RegisteredNot determinedNone
Adco naproxen 250 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

250 mgX0156X/3.1/156CancelledNot determinedNone
Adco-naproxen 500 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

500 mgX0157X/3.1/157CancelledNot determinedNone
Naproxen 500 oethmaan

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500,00 mg

500X0341X/3.1/341RegisteredNot determinedNone
Nafasol suppositories

EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

SuppositoriesY0131Y/3.1/131RegisteredNot determinedNone
Soladoc

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg NAPROXEN

Not listedY0177Y/3.1/177CancelledNot determinedNone
Napflam 500 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 500 mg

500 mgTabletsZ0065Z/3.1/65RegisteredNot determinedNone
Stopflam*

EACH TABLET CONTAINS NAPROXEN 250 mg

Not listedZ0134Z/3.1/134CancelledNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.

Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product

  • S3: Naproxen

    • when contained in preparations intended for application to the skin; (S1, S2)
    • when contained in oral medicinal preparations, intended for human use only containing naproxen as the only active therapeutic substance intended for patients over 16 years of age, for the treatment of mild to moderate pain or fever of inflammatory origin at a maximum dose of 600 milligrams naproxen base (660 milligrams naproxen sodium) in a 24 hour period for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and supplied in a solid dose form as divided doses contained in packs not exceeding the stated maximum treatment peroid. (S1, S2)
    • when intended for the treatment of acute gout attacks, for a maximum treatment period of 5 days in patients over 16 years of age. (S1, S2)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3978 to 3994

  • S2: Naproxen

    • when intended for the treatment of acute gout attacks, for a maximum treatment period of 5 days in patients over 16 years of age; (S3)
    • except when contained in preparations intended for application to the skin;(S1) and
    • except when contained in oral medicinal preparations, intended for human use only containing naproxen as the only active therapeutic substance intended for patients over 16 years of age, for the treatment of mild to moderate pain or fever of inflammatory origin at a maximum dose of 600 milligrams naproxen base (660 milligrams naproxen sodium) in a 24 hour period for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and supplied in a solid dose form as divided doses contained in packs not exceeding the stated maximum treatment period; (S1, S3)
    • except when intended for veterinary use. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2368 to 2386

  • S1: Naproxen

    • when contained in preparations intended for application to the skin; (S2, S3)
    • when contained in oral medicinal preparations, intended for human use only containing naproxen as the only active therapeutic substance intended for patients over 16 years of age, for the treatment of mild to moderate pain or fever of inflammatory origin at a maximum dose of 600 milligrams naproxen base (660 milligrams naproxen sodium) in a 24 hour period for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and supplied in a solid dose form as divided doses contained in packs not exceeding the stated maximum treatment period; (S2, S3)
    • except when intended for veterinary use. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 866 to 877

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles