Moxifloxacin
Sold as Avelon, Avelon iv, Numoxx, Avebact, Litares, DRL moxifloxacin, Moxibay iv, Moxibay, Bayquin, Bayquin iv, Cipla moxifloxacin, Mofloxx, Avoxa, Amoflo, Floxave, Lonxave, Moxifloxacin fresenius, Genfloc, Moxidrop, Austell moxifloxacin iv, Avequin, Avoxa eye, Oxifiled, Moxifloxacin eye ascendis, Moxifloxacin PD, Moxifloxacin adco, Moxifloxacin unicorn, Lonxave dt, Vigamox eye
7-[(4AS,7aS)-1,2,3,4,4a,5,7,7a-octahydropyrrolo[3,4-b]pyridin-6-yl]-1-cyclopropyl-6-fluoro-8-methoxy-4-oxoquinoline-3-carboxylic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 152946.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 19
- Registrations
- 29
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bayer (Pty) Ltd û IsandoCertificate held by Bayer (Pty) Ltd | Avelon, Avelon iv, Moxibay iv, Moxibay, Bayquin, Bayquin iv | 400 mg/250 ml, 400mg | 340008, 360052, 420592, 420593, 420594, 420595 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Numoxx | 400 | 410777 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCancelled | Avebact | 400 | 410778 | S4 | None |
| Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Litares, DRL moxifloxacin | Not stated | 420142, 420442 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cipla moxifloxacin, Mofloxx | 400 mg | 441062, 441063 | S4 | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Austell Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Avoxa, Austell moxifloxacin iv, Avoxa eye | 5 mg, 400 mg/250 mL | 460643, 500434, 540202 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Amoflo | Not stated | 471299 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Floxave | 400 | 480021 | S4 | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Lonxave, Lonxave dt | 100 mg, 400 | 480024, 600617 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Moxifloxacin fresenius | 400 mg/250 mL | 490675 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Gen-eye (Pty) Ltd | Genfloc | 5 mg/ml | 490909 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Moxidrop | 5 mg/1 ml | 500350 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Lamar International (Pty) Ltd | Avequin | Not stated | 510839 | S4 | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Oxifiled | Not stated | 550596 | S4 | None |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Moxifloxacin eye ascendis | drops | 560706 | S4 | None |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | Moxifloxacin PD | 400 mg | 561201 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Moxifloxacin adco | Not stated | 570418 | S4 | None |
| Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Moxifloxacin unicorn | 400 | 590635 | S4 | None |
| Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Vigamox eye | drops | A400164 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avelon EACH TABLET CONTAINS | 400 mg/250 mlTablets. Infusion | 34000834/20.1.1/0008Approved 4 November 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Avelon iv EACH 250,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS:MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 36005236/20.1.1/0052 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Numoxx 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 | 41077741/20.1.1/0777 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Avebact 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 | 41077841/20.1.1/0778 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Litares EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 42014242/20.1.1/0142 | Registered | S4 | None |
| DRL moxifloxacin EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 42044242/20.1.1/0442 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxibay iv EACH 250,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 42059242/20.1.1/0592 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxibay tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS:MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400mgTablet | 42059342/20.1.1/0593Approved 4 November 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bayquin tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400mgFilm-coated tablets | 42059442/20.1.1/0594Approved 4 November 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bayquin iv EACH 250,0 ml INFUSION CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 42059542/20.1.1/0595 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cipla moxifloxacin 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS:MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 mg | 44106244/20.1.1/1062 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Mofloxx EACH TABLET CONTAINS:MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 44106344/20.1.1/1063 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Avoxa EACH TABLET CONTAINS :MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 46064346/20.1.1/0643 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amoflo EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | Not listed | 47129947/20.1.1/1299 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Floxave 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 | 48002148/20.1.1/0021 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lonxave 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 | 48002448/20.1.1/0024 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxifloxacin 400 mg/250 ML fresenius | 400 mg/250 mLSolution for infusion | 49067549/20.1.1/0675Approved 29 September 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Genfloc | 5 mg/mlOphthalmic solution | 49090949/15.1/0909Approved 8 December 2020 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Moxidrop EACH 1,0 ml CONTAINS: MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 5,0 mg | 5 mg/1 mlOphthalmic solution | 50035050/15.1/0350Approved 27 February 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Austell moxifloxacin iv 400 mg/250 ML EACH 250,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 mg/250 mLSolution for infusion. | 50043450/20.1.1/0434Approved 23 October 2020 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Avequin Each Tablet contains: Moxifloxacin Hydrochloride Monohydrate Equivalent to Moxifloxacin 400 mg | Not listed | 51083951/20.1.1/0839 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Avoxa eye drops EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 5,0 mg | 5 mgSolution | 54020254/15.1/0202Approved 16 May 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Oxifiled EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE 400,0 mg | Not listed | 55059655/20.1.1/0596 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxifloxacin eye drops ascendis EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 5,0 mg | Drops | 56070656/15.1/0706 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxifloxacin 400 MG PD EACH TABLET CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 400 mg | 400 mg | 56120156/20.1.1/1201 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxifloxacin adco EACH TABLET CONTAINS: MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE 400,0 mg | Not listed | 57041857/20.1.1/0418 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Moxifloxacin 400 unicorn EACH TABLET CONTAINS: MOXIFLOXACIN 400,0 mg | 400 | 59063559/20.1.1/0635 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lonxave 100 MG dt EACH TABLET CONTAINS: MOXIFLOXACIN HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO MOXIFLOXACIN 100,0 mg | 100 mgDispersible tablet | 60061760/20.1.1/0617Approved 26 May 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Vigamox eye drops EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS MOXIFLOXACIN 5,0 mg | Drops | A400164A40/15.1/0164 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Moxifloxacin
S4: Moxifloxacin
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7187
Pharmacological class: Broad and medium spectrum antibiotics. (class 20.1.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Avelon, Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.