Metronidazole
Sold as Eradia, Amzole, Dynametron, Saltermet, Zagyl, A-lennon metronidazole, Adco metronidazole, Nidasall, Genpharm metronidazole, Rozex, Metagyl, Metagyl forte, Metrogel v, Metronidazole b braun, Bio-metronidazole iv, Metronidazole unimed, Flamet, Metronidazole lamar, Metris, Flagyl, Trichazole, Ambral, Metronidazole fresenius, Anaerobyl, Narobic, Metryl, Adco-metronidazole, Metronidazole bliss, Fungimet, Metron, Sandoz metronidazole, Metrazole, Metronidazoel bliss, Nidatron, Adco metrostat, Berazole, Gsa-metronidazole, Bio metronidazole, Bio-metronidazole, Metazol, Bemetrazole, Suprazole, Geozole, Flagyl fc
2-(2-Methyl-5-nitroimidazol-1-yl)ethanol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 4173.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 24
- Registrations
- 61
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virbac Rsa (Pty) Ltd | Eradia | Not stated | 19/27 | Not determined | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticalsCertificate held by Innovata Pharmaceuticals Pty Ltd | Amzole, Nidasall | 200, 400 | 270008, 280036, 280037 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Dynametron, Metris, Fungimet, Sandoz metronidazole, Metazol | 200, 400 | 270347, A400157, S0153, S0230, W0063, W0064 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited5 of 7 cancelled | Saltermet, Adco-metronidazole, Adco metronidazole, Nidatron, Adco metrostat, Gsa-metronidazole | 200 mg, 400 mg | 270394, R0187, R0188, U0199, V0013, V0241, V0242 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Zagyl | Not stated | 270421 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead6 of 7 cancelled | A-lennon metronidazole, Trichazole, Metryl | 200 mg, 400 mg, infusion, 0,5 g, 1,0 g | 270496, 280027, M0194, M0195, R0178, S0049, S0050 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | Adco metronidazole | 500 mg/100 ml | 270562 | Not determined | None |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Genpharm metronidazole, Narobic, Metron | 400 mg | 290089, R0003, S0204 | Not determined | None |
| Galderma Laboratories S.A. (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Galderma Laboratories South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Rozex | 7.5 mg per g | 290771 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Metagyl, Metagyl forte | tablets | 320218, 320219 | Not determined | None |
| Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Metrogel v | Not stated | 330243 | Not determined | None |
| B Braun Medical (Pty) LtdCancelled | Metronidazole b braun | 500 mg/100 ml | 410155 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd. | Bio-metronidazole iv, Bio metronidazole, Bio-metronidazole | 100 ml, 200, 400 | 420567, V0370, V0371 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Metronidazole unimed | 200, 400 | 450828, 450829 | Not determined | None |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Flamet, Anaerobyl | 200, 400 | 450830, 450831, R0300, R0301 | Not determined | None |
| Lamar International (Pty) Ltd | Metronidazole lamar | 500 mg | 600072 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd.2 of 3 cancelled | Flagyl, Flagyl fc | 200 mg/5 mL, 200, 400 | F0050, Z0295, Z0296 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Aquila Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Ambral | Not stated | P0292 | Not determined | None |
| Fresenius Kabi Manufacturing SA (Pty) Ltd | Metronidazole fresenius | 500 mg/100 ml | Q0092 | Not determined | None |
| Medicine Developers International (Pty) Ltd2 of 5 cancelled | Anaerobyl, Suprazole, Geozole | 250, 500 mg | Q0101, Q0102, Q0103, Y0260, Z0024 | Not determined | None |
| Bliss Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Metronidazole bliss, Metronidazoel bliss | 200 mg, 400 mg, 500 mg, 1000 mg | S0014, S0015, S0382, S0383 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacorp (Pty) Ltd | Metrazole | 400 mg | S0251 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Quatromed limited | Berazole | 400 mg | V0200 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Bemetrazole | Not stated | X0084 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eradia EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 125,0 mg | Not listed | 19/2719/17.4/27 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amzole TABLET METRONIDAZOLE 400 MG | Not listed | 27000827/20.2.6/0008 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Dynametron EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | Not listed | 27034727/20.2.6/0347 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Saltermet 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mg | 27039427/20.2.6/0394 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Zagyl* EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | Not listed | 27042127/20.2.6/0421 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon metronidazole 200 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 mgTablets | 27049627/20.2.6/0496 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco metronidazole 500 mg/100 ML EACH 100 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :METRONIDAZOLE 500 mg | 500 mg/100 ml | 27056227/20.2.6/0562 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon metronidazole 400 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mgTablets | 28002728/20.2.6/0027 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Nidasall 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200Tablets | 28003628/20.2.6/0036Approved 22 October 2025 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Nidasall 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400Tablets | 28003728/20.2.6/0037Approved 22 October 2025 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Genpharm metronidazole 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 MG | 400 mg | 29008929/20.2.6/0089 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Rozex gel EACH 1 g CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 7,5 mg | 7.5 mg per gGel | 29077129/13.4.2/0771Approved 19 April 2022 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Metagyl tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200,0 mg | Tablets | 32021832/20.2/0218 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metagyl forte tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400,0 mg | Tablets | 32021932/20.2/0219 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metrogel v EACH 1,0 g GEL CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 7,5 mg | Not listed | 33024333/20.2.6/0243 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazole b braun 500 mg/100 ML EACH 100,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | 500 mg/100 ml | 41015541/20.2/0155 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Bio-metronidazole iv EACH 100,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | 100 mlSolution for infusion. | 42056742/20.2/0567Approved 20 October 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Metronidazole 200 unimed EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200,0 mg | 200 | 45082845/20.2.6/0828 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazole 400 unimed EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400,0 mg | 400 | 45082945/20.2.6/0829 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Flamet 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200,0 mg | 200 | 45083045/20.2.6/0830 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Flamet 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400,0 mg | 400 | 45083145/20.2.6/0831 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazole 500 mg/100 ML lamar EACH 100,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | 500 mgSolution for infusion | 60007260/20.2/0072Approved 28 July 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Metris EACH 100,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | Not listed | A400157A40/20.2/0157 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Flagyl suspension EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS:BENZOYL METRONIDAZOLE 320 mg EQUIVALENT TO 200 mg METRONIDAZOLE | 200 mg/5 mLSuspension | F0050F/20.2.6/50Approved 3 February 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trichazole - 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | - 200 | M0194M/20.2.6/194 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Trichazole 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 | M0195M/20.2.6/195 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ambral EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | Not listed | P0292P/20.2.6/292 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazole 500 mg/100 ML fresenius EACH 100,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | 500 mg/100 ml | Q0092Q/20.2/92 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Anaerobyl 250 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 250 mg | 250 | Q0101Q/20.2.6/0101 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Anaerobyl 500 tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | 500Tablets | Q0102Q/20.2.6/102 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Anaerobyl injection 500 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500,0 mg | 500 mgInjection | Q0103Q/20.2.6/0103 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Narobic EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200,0 mg | Not listed | R0003R/20.2.6/3 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Metryl infusion EACH 1 ml INFUSION CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 5 mg | Infusion | R0178R/20.2.6/178 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-metronidazole 200 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 mg | R0187R/20.2.6/187 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco metronidazole 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mg | R0188R/20.2.6/188 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Anaerobyl 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 | R0300R/20.2.6/300 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Anaerobyl 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 | R0301R/20.2.6/301 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazole 200 MG bliss EACH TABLET CONTAINS:METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 mg | S0014S/20.2.6/14 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazole 400 MG bliss EACH TABLET CONTAINS:METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mg | S0015S/20.2.6/15 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Trichazole suppositories 0,5 g EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 0,5 g | 0,5 gSuppositories | S0049S/20.2/49 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Trichazole suppositories 1,0 g EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 1,0 g | 1,0 gSuppositories | S0050S/20.2/50 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Fungimet 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400,0 mg | 400 | S0153S/20.2.6/153 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metron EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | Not listed | S0204S/20.2.6/204 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz metronidazole 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200,0 mg | 200 | S0230S/20.2.6/230 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metrazole EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400,0 mg | 400 mgTablets | S0251S/20.2.6/251Approved 8 August 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Metronidazole 500 MG bliss EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 500 mg | 500 mg | S0382S/20.2/382 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metronidazoel 1000 MG bliss EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 1000 mg | 1000 mg | S0383S/20.2/383 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nidatron 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mg | U0199U/20.2.6/199 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco metrostat 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mg | V0013V/20.2.6/13 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Berazole 400 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 mgTablets | V0200V/20.2/200 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gsa-metronidazole 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 | V0241V/20.2.6/241 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Gsa-metronidazole 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 | V0242V/20.2.6/242 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Bio metronidazole 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 | V0370V/20.2.6/370 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Bio-metronidazole 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 | V0371V/20.2.6/371 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metazol 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 | W0063W/20.2.6/63 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metazol 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 | W0064W/20.2.6/64 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Bemetrazole TABLETMETRONIDAZOLE 400 MG | Not listed | X0084X/20.2.6/84 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Suprazole EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400,0 mg | Not listed | Y0260Y/20.2.6/260 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Geozole TABLET METRONIDAZOLE A 400 MG | Not listed | Z0024 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Flagyl fc 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 200 mg | 200 | Z0295Z/20.2.6/295 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Flagyl fc 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS METRONIDAZOLE 400 mg | 400 | Z0296Z/20.2.6/296 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Metronidazole
S4: Metronidazole
- intended and registered for use in pigeons in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947) and
- intended for human vaginal use, specifically for the treatment of recurrent bacterial vaginosis. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7108 to 7117
S2: Metronidazole
- when intended for human vaginal use, specifically for the treatment of recurrent bacterial vaginosis and except when intended and registered for use in pigeons in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947). (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2343 to 2345
Pharmacological class: Other than antibiotics. (class 20.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.