Metoclopramide
Sold as Clomax, Metoclopramide unimed, Pramalon, Pharma-q metoclopramide, Austell-metoclopramide, Metoclopramide austell, Metoclopramide apex, Metoclopramide camox, Metoclopramide lamar, Maxolon i, Maxolon t, Maxolon d, Primperan, Primperan (paediatric), Primperan (adult), Maxolon s5, Maxolon s10, Adco contromet, Contromet paediatric, Adco metoclopramide, Clopamon-s, Clopamon-t, Setin, Clopamon, Metoclopramide oethmaan, Reglan, Reglan pf, Betaclopramide, Topramid, Metcon, Prometic
4-Amino-5-chloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)ethyl]-2-methoxybenzamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 4168.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 16
- Registrations
- 37
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Clomax | Not stated | 270170 | S4 | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Metoclopramide unimed, Pramalon, Betaclopramide | Not stated | 280210, 290781, X0317 | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | Pharma-q metoclopramide | 10 mg/2 ml | 340051 | S4 | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Austell-metoclopramide, Metoclopramide austell, Metoclopramide apex, Metoclopramide camox | 5 mg/ml, 10 mg | 370312, 480904, 480906, 480908 | S4 | None |
| Lamar International (Pty) Ltd | Metoclopramide lamar | 10 mg/2 ml | 600065 | S4 | None |
| Meda Pharma SA (Pty) Ltd | Maxolon i | Not stated | C0919 | S4 | None |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Maxolon t | Not stated | C0920 | S4 | None |
| Pharmaco Distribution (Pty) LtdCancelled | Maxolon d, Maxolon s5, Maxolon s10 | Not stated | C1014, H0200, H0201 | S4 | None |
| Roche Products (Pty) LtdCancelled | Primperan, Primperan (paediatric), Primperan (adult) | ampoule, syrup, tablets, suppositories | D0192, D0193, D0194, F0113, F0114 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited1 of 7 cancelled | Adco contromet, Clopamon-s, Clopamon-t, Clopamon, Prometic | tablets, syrup, 5 mg, 10 mg | K0049, K0050, L0319, L0322, M0190, M0191, Z0277 | S4 | None |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelled | Contromet paediatric, Topramid | drops | K0051, Z0044 | S4 | None |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Adcock ingram limited | Adco metoclopramide, Clopamon | 10 mg/2 ml | K0169, P0053 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Setin | Not stated | M0141 | S4 | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Metoclopramide oethmaan | 10 mg | Q0228 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Reglan, Reglan pf | tablets, syrup | R0088, R0089, S0169 | S4 | None |
| Alps Health Care (Pty) LtdCancelled | Metcon | Not stated | Z0144 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clomax EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | 27017027/5.7.2/0170 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Metoclopramide unimed EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE (MONOHYDRATE) EQUIVALENT TO METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 28021028/5.7.2/0210 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Pramalon EACH 2 ml CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | 29078129/5.7.2/0781 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q metoclopramide injection 10 mg/2 ML EACH 2,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE (MONOHYDRATE) EQUIVALENT TO METOCLOPRAMIDE 10,0 mg | 10 mg/2 mlInjection | 34005134/5.7.2/0051 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Austell-metoclopramide 5 mg/ml EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 5,0 mg | 5 mg/ml | 37031237/5.7.2/0312 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Metoclopramide 10 MG austell Each tablet contains METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg | 10 mg | 48090448/11.2/0904 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Metoclopramide 10 MG apex Each tablet contains METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg | 10 mg | 48090648/11.2/0906 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Metoclopramide 10 MG camox Each tablet contains METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg | 10 mg | 48090848/11.2/0908 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Metoclopramide 10 mg/2 ML lamar EACH 2,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE MONOHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE ANHYDROUS 10,0 mg | 10 mg/2 ml | 60006560/5.7.2/0065 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Maxolon i EACH 2,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE A 10,0 mg | Not listed | C0919 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Maxolon t EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | C0920C/5.7.2/920 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Maxolon d EACH 1 ml CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg | Not listed | C1014C/5.7.2/1014 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Primperan ampoule EACH 2 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Ampoule | D0192D/5.7.2/192 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Primperan syrup EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg | Syrup | D0193D/5.7.2/193 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Primperan tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Tablets | D0194D/5.7.2/194 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Primperan suppositories (paediatric) EACH SUPPORITORY CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE 0,010 g | Suppositories | F0113F/5.7.2/113 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Primperan suppositories (adult) EACH SUPPORITORY CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE 20 mg | Suppositories | F0114F/5.7.2/114 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Maxolon s5 EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE 5 mg | Not listed | H0200H/5.7.2/200 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Maxolon s10 EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE 10 mg | Not listed | H0201H/5.7.2/201 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Adco contromet tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS :METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Tablets | K0049K/11.2/49 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco contromet syrup EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS :METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 5,0 mg | Syrup | K0050K/11.2/50 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Contromet paediatric drops* EACH 1 ml SYRUP CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg | Drops | K0051K/11.2/51 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Adco metoclopramide 10 mg/2 ML EACH 2 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :METOCLOPRAMIDE MONOHYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | 10 mg/2 ml | K0169K/11.2/169 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clopamon-s EACH 5 ML CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 MG | Not listed | L0319L/5.7.2/319 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clopamon-t EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | L0322L/5.7.2/322 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Setin EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | M0141M/5.7.2/141 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clopamon suppositories 5 MG EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE 5 mg | 5 mgSuppositories | M0190M/5.7.2/190 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clopamon suppositories 10 MG EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE 10 mg | 10 mgSuppositories | M0191M/5.7.2/191 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clopamon injection 10 mg/2 ML EACH 2 ML CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE (MONOHYDRATE) EQUIVALENT TO 10 MG METOCLOPRAMIDE BASE | 10 mg/2 mlInjection | P0053P/5.7.2/53Approved 24 April 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Metoclopramide 10 oethmaan EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | 10 mgTablet | Q0228Q/5.7.2/228Approved 13 August 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Reglan tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 10 MG METOCLOPRAMIDE | Tablets | R0088R/5.7.2/88 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Reglan pf EACH 2 ml CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE (MONOHYDRATE) EQUIVALENT TO 10 mg METOCLOPRAMIDE BASE | Not listed | R0089R/5.7.2/89 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Reglan syrup EACH 5 ML CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 5 MG METOCLOPRAMIDE | Syrup | S0169S/5.7.2/169 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Betaclopramide* EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | X0317X/5.7.2/317 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Topramid* EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | Z0044Z/5.7.2/44 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Metcon EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 MG | Not listed | Z0144Z/5.7.2/144 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Prometic EACH TABLET CONTAINS METOCLOPRAMIDE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg | Not listed | Z0277Z/5.7.2/277 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Metoclopramide hydrochloride
S4: Metoclopramide
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7102
Pharmacological class: Anti-emetics and antivertigo preparations. (class 5.7.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Clopamon injection 10 mg/2 ML, Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.