Skip to content
zameds

Memantine

Sold as Ebixa, Cognimet, Memantine zydus, Memor, Ebitine, Memantine adco, Memantine unichem, Meminist, Noalzh, Ebzeim

S4
Loading the molecular structure
C12H21N179.30 g/mol

3,5-Dimethyladamantan-1-amine

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 4054.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
7
Registrations
10
Schedule source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
H. Lundbeck (Pty) LtdCancelledEbixa10 mg380226S4None
Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories (Pty) Ltd.Cognimet10 mg440438S4PI
Zydus Healthcare (Pty) LtdMemantine zydus, Memor10 mg441013, 441014S4None
Adcock ingram limitedEbitine, Memantine adcoNot stated450496, 450499S4None
Unichem SA (Pty) LtdMemantine unichem, Meminist10 mg460416, 460427S4None
Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) LtdNoalzh10470187S4None
Ascendis Pharma (Pty) LtdEbzeimNot stated561196S4None

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Ebixa 10 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

10 mg38022638/34/0226CancelledS4None
Cognimet 10

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

10 mgFilm-coated tablet44043844/34/0438Approved 23 March 2015RegisteredS4PI
Memantine zydus 10 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

10 mg44101344/34/1013RegisteredS4None
Memor 10 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

10 mg44101444/34/1014RegisteredS4None
Ebitine

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

Not listed45049645/32.16/0496RegisteredS4None
Memantine adco

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

Not listed45049945/32.16/0499RegisteredS4None
Memantine unichem 10 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

10 mg46041646/5.11/0416RegisteredS4None
Meminist 10 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

10 mg46042746/5.11/0427RegisteredS4None
Noalzh 10

Each tablet contains MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

1047018747/34/0187RegisteredS4None
Ebzeim

EACH TABLET CONTAINS: MEMANTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10,0 mg

Not listed56119656/2.11/1196RegisteredS4None

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Memantine hydrochloride

  • S4: Memantine

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7048

Pharmacological class: Complementary Medicines: Health Supplements (class 34)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Cognimet 10, Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles