Medroxyprogesterone
Sold as Omrastoz, Mensera, Sayana, Mytricon, Medroxyprogesterone mylan, Triclogyn, Medroxyprogesterone AURO, Prigauro, Medroxyprogesterone acetate rx medicals, Depo-provera, Provera, Petogen
[(6S,8R,9S,10R,13S,14S,17R)-17-Acetyl-6,10,13-trimethyl-3-oxo-2,6,7,8,9,11,12,14,15,16-decahydro-1H-cyclopenta[a]phenanthren-17-yl] acetate
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 6279.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 10
- Registrations
- 17
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Omrastoz | 150 mg | 280202 | S4 | None |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Mensera | 5, 10 | 380188, 380189 | S4 | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Sayana, Depo-provera, Provera | 10, 100 mg, 104 mg/0,65 ml, 150 mg, 500 mg | 451139, E0114, S0001, W0462, Z0363 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Mytricon, Medroxyprogesterone mylan | 150 mg/ml | 520991, 520992.991 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Triclogyn | 150 mg/ml | 560486 | S4 | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Aurogen SA (Pty) Ltd | Medroxyprogesterone AURO, Prigauro | 150 mg | 561072, 561073.1072 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Rx Medicals (Pty) Ltd | Medroxyprogesterone acetate rx medicals | Not stated | 590057 | S4 | None |
| Upjohn South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Provera | 100 MG | G2987 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacia South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Provera | 5 | G2988 | S4 | None |
| Fresenius Kabi Manufacturing SA (Pty) Ltd | Petogen | Not stated | J0278 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omrastoz 150 MG EACH 1 ML AMPOULE CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 150 MG | 150 mg | 28020228/21.8.2/0202 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Mensera 5 EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 5,0 mg | 5 | 38018838/21.8.2/0188 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Mensera 10 EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 10,0 mg | 10 | 38018938/21.8.2/0189 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Sayana 104 mg/0,65 ML EACH PRE-FILLED SYRINGE CONTAINS :MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 104,0 mg | 104 mg/0,65 ml | 45113945/21.8.2/1139 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Mytricon | 150 mg/mlSuspension for injection. | 52099152/21.8.2/0991Approved 4 December 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Medroxyprogesterone mylan | 150 mg/mlSuspension for injection. | 520992.99152/21.8.2/0992.991Approved 4 December 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Triclogyn 150 mg/ml EACH VIAL CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 150,0 mg | 150 mg/ml | 56048656/21.8.2/0486 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Medroxyprogesterone AURO Each 1,0 ml suspension contains: Medroxyprogesterone Acetate 150,0 mg | 150 mgInjectable suspension | 56107256/21.8.2/1072Approved 10 June 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Prigauro Each 1,0 ml suspension contains: Medroxyprogesterone Acetate 150,0 mg | 150 mgInjectable suspension | 561073.107256/21.8.2/1073.1072Approved 10 June 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Medroxyprogesterone acetate rx medicals EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 150,0 mg | Not listed | 59005759/21.8.2/0057 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Depo-provera 150 EACH 1 ml CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 150 mg | 150 mgSuspension for injection | E0114E/21.8.2/114Approved 21 January 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Provera 100 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE A 100 MG | 100 MG | G2987 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Provera 5 EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE A 5,0 mg | 5 | G2988 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Petogen EACH 1 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 150 mg | Not listed | J0278J/21.8.2/278 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Provera 100 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 100 mg | 100 mg | S0001S/21.8.2/1 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Provera 500 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 500 mg | 500 mg | W0462W/21.8.2/462 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Provera 10 EACH TABLET CONTAINS MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE 10,0 mg | 10 | Z0363Z/21.8.2/363 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Medroxyprogesterone acetate
S4: Medroxyprogesterone
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7019
Pharmacological class: Progesterones with or without oestrogens. (class 21.8.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Mytricon, Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.