Skip to content
zameds

Loratadine

Sold as Clarityne, Demazin anti-allergy, Clarityne reditabs, Pollentyme, Ap-loratadine, Clarinese, Lorano, Lordyno, Lorahist, Rhineton non drowsy, Laura, Adco-loratadine, Allergex non drowsy, Rhinigine, Pollentyme s, Ap loratadine, Demazin once a day, Lorurt, Loratadine ascend, Loratadine austell, Cipla loratadine, Lorfast

S2Read from the PI-PIL document and verified
Loading the molecular structure
C22H23ClN2O2382.90 g/mol

Ethyl 4-(13-chloro-4-azatricyclo[9.4.0.03,8]pentadeca-1(11),3(8),4,6,12,14-hexaen-2-ylidene)piperidine-1-carboxylate

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 3957.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
14
Registrations
27
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Bayer (Pty) Ltd û IsandoClarityne, Demazin anti-allergy, Clarityne reditabseffervescent, tablets, syrup300493, 310364, 310509, 310511, U0027, Z0056Not determinedNone
Astral Pharma (Pty) LtdPollentyme, Pollentyme stablets340507, 370547Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadAp-loratadine, Clarinese, Ap loratadine10 mg, syrup350084, 350288, 380083, 380087Not determinedNone
Trinity Pharma (Pty) LtdLorano10350354Not determinedNone
Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdLordyno10 mg350355Not determinedPIPIL
Adcock ingram limited1 of 3 cancelledLorahist, Adco-loratadine, Allergex non drowsysyrup, 5 mg/5 ml, tablets360008, 360285, 360286Not determinedNone
Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd, Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd.Rhineton non drowsy, Lorfast10 mg360231, A380621S2PIPIL
Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdLaura10360232Not determinedNone
Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdRhinigineNot stated370405Not determinedNone
Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdDemazin once a dayNot stated410119Not determinedNone
Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) LtdLorurtNot stated530406Not determinedNone
Ascend Laboratories (Pty) LtdLoratadine ascendsyrup, tablet561149, 570298Not determinedNone
Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdLoratadine austell10 mgA380380Not determinedNone
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCipla loratadineNot statedA380491Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Clarityne effervescent

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10 mg

Effervescent30049330/5.7.1/0493RegisteredNot determinedNone
Demazin anti-allergy tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Tablets31036431/5.7.1/0364RegisteredNot determinedNone
Clarityne reditabs

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Not listed31050931/5.7.1/0509RegisteredNot determinedNone
Demazin anti-allergy syrup

EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Syrup31051131/5.7.1/0511RegisteredNot determinedNone
Pollentyme tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS :LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Tablets34050734/5.7.1/0507RegisteredNot determinedNone
Ap-loratadine 10 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10 mgTablets35008435/5.7.1/0084RegisteredNot determinedNone
Clarinese 10 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10 mgTablets35028835/5.7.1/0288RegisteredNot determinedNone
Lorano 10

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg LORATADINE 10,0 mg

1035035435/5.7.1/0354RegisteredNot determinedNone
Lordyno

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10 mgTablet.35035535/5.7.1/0355Approved 30 September 2021RegisteredNot determinedPIPIL
Lorahist syrup

EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Syrup36000836/5.7.1/0008RegisteredNot determinedNone
Rhineton non drowsy

EACH TABLET CONTAINS: LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10 mgTablets36023136/5.7.1/0231Approved 15 August 2022RegisteredS2PIPIL
Laura 10 tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAIN: LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10Tablets36023236/5.7.1/0232RegisteredNot determinedNone
Adco-loratadine 5 mg/5 ML

EACH 1,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS LORATADINE 1,0 mg

5 mg/5 ml36028536/5.7.1/0285CancelledNot determinedNone
Allergex non drowsy tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Tablets36028636/5.7.1/0286RegisteredNot determinedNone
Rhinigine

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Not listed37040537/5.7.1/0405RegisteredNot determinedNone
Pollentyme s

EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Not listed37054737/5.7.1/0547RegisteredNot determinedNone
Ap loratadine syrup

EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Syrup38008338/5.7.1/0083RegisteredNot determinedNone
Clarinese syrup

EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Syrup38008738/5.7.1/0087RegisteredNot determinedNone
Demazin once a day

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Not listed41011941/5.7.1/0119RegisteredNot determinedNone
Lorurt

EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Not listed53040653/5.7.1/0406RegisteredNot determinedNone
Loratadine syrup ascend

EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS LORATADINE 5,0 mg

Syrup56114956/5.7.1/1149RegisteredNot determinedNone
Loratadine tablet ascend

Each Tablet contains: Loratadine 10,0 mg

Tablet57029857/5.7.1/0298RegisteredNot determinedNone
Loratadine 10 MG austell

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10 mgA380380A38/5.7.1/0380RegisteredNot determinedNone
Cipla loratadine

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

Not listedA380491A38/5.7.1/0491RegisteredNot determinedNone
Lorfast

EACH TABLET CONTAINS LORATADINE 10,0 mg

10 mgTabletA380621A38/5.7.1/0621Approved 9 October 2022RegisteredS2PIPIL
Clarityne tablets

TABLET LORATADINE 1O MG

TabletsU0027U/5.7.1/27RegisteredNot determinedNone
Clarityne syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONAINS LORATADINE 5 mg

SyrupZ0056Z/5.7.1/56RegisteredNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

Where S2 sits on the scale

A pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription.

Schedule 2 medicines sit behind the pharmacy counter. A pharmacist can decide to sell one of these directly, using their own professional judgement, without a doctor's prescription. It can also be dispensed against a prescription like the higher tiers, in which case the usual repeat limits apply. A child under 12 may only be sold a Schedule 2 substance on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises. Even though it cannot be advertised to the public in the ordinary sense, its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S2, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S1; the leaflet's S2 applies to this product.

Who may supply: Only a pharmacist, pharmacist intern or supervised pharmacist's assistant may sell it without a prescription. It may otherwise be dispensed by a pharmacist against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Loratadine

  • S1: Loratadine

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 805

Pharmacological class: Antihistaminics. (class 5.7.1)

2 of 2 approved products with this ingredient carry S2 on their leaflet.

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles