Lopinavir, ritonavir
Sold as Kaletra, Aluvia, Caveerah, Raolin, Mecotril, Cotiral, Cipla-lopinavir & ritonavir os, Medpro-lopinavir & ritonavir os, Rilovia, Lopwin, Diloprit, Lopinavir and ritonavir macleods, Hetloritan, Napinor, Lopimune pellets, Lopinavir and ritonavir cipla pellets, Dupirta, Pefrilo, Grapitova, Lopinavir/ritonavir for mylan
Combination product
This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 14
- Registrations
- 27
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abbvie (Pty) Ltd | Kaletra, Aluvia | 80 mg / 20mg, 100/25, 200 mg, 50 mg | 350255, 410217, 430356 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Caveerah | 100/25, 200/50 | 440881, 440882 | S4 | None |
| Novagen Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Raolin | 100/25 mg, 200/50 mg | 450078, 450079 | S4 | None |
| Aurobindo Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Mecotril | 100/25 mg, 200/50 mg | 450080, 450081 | S4 | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Cotiral | 100/25 mg, 200/50 mg | 450082, 450083 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cipla-lopinavir & ritonavir os, Medpro-lopinavir & ritonavir os | 80/20 mg/ml | 450098, 450099 | S4 | None |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd1 of 5 cancelled | Rilovia, Dupirta, Pefrilo, Lopinavir/ritonavir for mylan | 40 mg, 10 mg, 40 mg/10 mg, 200/50 | 450111, 450336, 550567, 550568.567, 560046 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Zentiva South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Lopwin | Not stated | 470462 | S4 | None |
| Specpharm (Pty) LtdCancelled | Diloprit | Not stated | 470810 | S4 | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Lopinavir and ritonavir macleods | 100/25 mg, 200/50 mg | 480105, 480106 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Hetloritan | 200/50 | 490585 | S4 | None |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Napinor | Not stated | 491075 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Lopimune pellets, Lopinavir and ritonavir cipla pellets | 40/10 | 510123, 510124.123 | S4 | None |
| Juno Pharma SA (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Grapitova | 40 mg, 10 mg | 550569.567 | S4 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kaletra solution EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :LOPINAVIR 80,0 mg, RITONAVIR 20,0 mg | 80 mg / 20mgOral solution | 35025535/20.2.8/0255Approved 25 June 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Aluvia EACH TABLET CONTAINS: LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg, RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200 mg, 50 mgFilm-coated tablets | 41021741/20.2.8/0217Approved 15 April 2021 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Aluvia 100/25 EACH TABLET CONTAINS :LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg, RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | 100/25Film-coated tablets | 43035643/20.2.8/0356Approved 15 April 2021 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Caveerah 100/25 EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | 100/25 | 44088144/20.2.8/0881 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Caveerah 200/50 EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 | 44088244/20.2.8/0882 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Raolin 100/25 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | 100/25 mgTablets | 45007845/20.2.8/0078 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Raolin 200/50 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 mgTablets | 45007945/20.2.8/0079 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Mecotril 100/25 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | 100/25 mgTablets | 45008045/20.2.8/0080 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Mecotril 200/50 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 mgTablets | 45008145/20.2.8/0081 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cotiral 100/25 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | 100/25 mgTablets | 45008245/20.2.8/0082 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cotiral 200/50 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 mgTablets | 45008345/20.2.8/0083 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cipla-lopinavir & ritonavir 80/20 mg/ml os EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 80,0 mg RITONAVIR 20,0 mg | 80/20 mg/ml | 45009845/20.2.8/0098 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Medpro-lopinavir & ritonavir 80/20 mg/ml os EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 80,0 mg RITONAVIR 20,0 mg | 80/20 mg/ml | 45009945/20.2.8/0099 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rilovia 200/50 EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 | 45011145/20.2.8/0111 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Rilovia EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | Not listed | 45033645/20.2.8/0336 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lopwin EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | Not listed | 47046247/20.2.8/0462 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Diloprit EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | Not listed | 47081047/20.2.8/0810 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Lopinavir and ritonavir tablets macleods 100/25 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 100,0 mg RITONAVIR 25,0 mg | 100/25 mgTablets | 48010548/20.2.8/0105 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lopinavir and ritonavir tablets macleods 200/50 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 mgTablets | 48010648/20.2.8/0106 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hetloritan 200/50 EACH TABLET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | 200/50 | 49058549/20.2.8/0585 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Napinor EACH TABLET CONTAINS : LOPINAVIR 200,0 mg RITONAVIR 50,0 mg | Not listed | 49107549/20.2.8/1075 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lopimune 40/10 oral pellets EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 40,0 mg RITONAVIR 10,0 mg | 40/10Oral | 51012351/20.2.8/0123 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lopinavir and ritonavir cipla 40/10 oral pellets EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 40,0 mg RITONAVIR 10,0 mg | 40/10Oral | 510124.12351/20.2.8/0124.123 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Dupirta EACH SACHET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 40,0 mg RITONAVIR 10,0 mg | 40 mg, 10 mgOral granules | 55056755/20.2.8/0567Approved 26 September 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pefrilo EACH SACHET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 40,0 mg RITONAVIR 10,0 mg | 40 mg, 10 mgOral granules | 550568.56755/20.2.8/0568.567Approved 26 September 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Grapitova EACH SACHET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 40,0 mg RITONAVIR 10,0 mg | 40 mg, 10 mgOral granules | 550569.56755/20.2.8/0569.567Approved 26 September 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Lopinavir/ritonavir 40 mg/10 MG granules for oral suspension mylan EACH SACHET CONTAINS LOPINAVIR 40,0 mg RITONAVIR 10,0 mg | 40 mg/10 mgGranules oral suspension | 56004656/20.2.8/0046 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Lopinavir, ritonavir
S4: Lopinavir
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6964
S4: Ritonavir
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7820
Pharmacological class: Antiviral agents. (class 20.2.8)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Kaletra solution, Abbvie (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.