Latanoprost
Sold as Xalatan, Ocuprost, Spersatan, Atana ophthalmic, Latanoprost bausch & lomb, Talinop, Comarest, Oculata, Latanoprost unicorn, Trinopthal, Tanotrin, Trinlotan, Latanoprost eye FDC, Vislenta
Propan-2-yl (Z)-7-[(1R,2R,3R,5S)-3,5-dihydroxy-2-[(3R)-3-hydroxy-5-phenylpentyl]cyclopentyl]hept-5-enoate
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5311221.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 11
- Registrations
- 14
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Xalatan | Not stated | 310614 | S4 | None |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Ocuprost | Not stated | 380185 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Spersatan | Not stated | 460918 | S4 | None |
| Gen-eye (Pty) Ltd | Atana ophthalmic | solution | 470116 | S4 | None |
| Soflens (Pty) LtdCancelled | Latanoprost bausch & lomb | Not stated | 471167 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Talinop | Not stated | 490084 | S4 | None |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Comarest | 50 μg | 490154 | S4 | PI |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Oculata | Not stated | 491145 | S4 | None |
| Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Latanoprost unicorn | 1 mL | 520892 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Trinopthal, Tanotrin, Trinlotan | Not stated | 540394, 540395.394, 540396.394 | S4 | None |
| FDC SA (Pty) Ltd | Latanoprost eye FDC, Vislenta | drops | 561203, 561204.1203 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Xalatan EACH 1 ml EYE DROPS CONTAINS LATANOPROST 50 ug | Not listed | 31061431/15.4/0614 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Ocuprost EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS LATANOPROST 50,0 ug | Not listed | 38018538/15.4/0185 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Spersatan EACH 1,0 ml CONTAINS LATANOPROST 50,0 ug | Not listed | 46091846/15.4/0918 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Atana ophthalmic solution EACH 1,0 ml CONTAINS LATANOPROST 50,0 ug/ml | Solution | 47011647/15.4/0116 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Latanoprost bausch & lomb Each 1,0 ml solution contains :LATANOPROST 50,0 ug | Not listed | 47116747/15.4/1167 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Talinop Each 1,0 ml contains: LATANOPROST 0,05 mg | Not listed | 49008449/15.4/0084 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Comarest Each 1 ml solution contains LATANOPROST 50,0 mcg | 50 μgOphthalmic solution | 49015449/15.4/0154Approved 20 May 2022 | Registered | S4 | PI |
| Oculata Each 1 ml of solution contains LATANOPROST 50,0 mcg | Not listed | 49114549/15.4/1145 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Latanoprost unicorn Each 1,0 ml contains LATANOPROST 50,0 µg | 1 mLEye drops, solution. | 52089252/15.4/0892 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trinopthal Each 1,0 ml Solution contains: Latanoprost 0,05mg | Not listed | 540394 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tanotrin Each 1,0 ml Solution contains: Latanoprost 0,05 mg | Not listed | 540395.39454/15.4/0395.394 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Trinlotan Each 1,0 ml Solution contains: Latanoprost 0,05 mg | Not listed | 540396.39454/15.4/0396.394 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Latanoprost eye drops FDC Each 1,0 ml Solution contains: Latanoprost 50,0 ug | Drops | 56120356/15.4/1203 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Vislenta Each 1,0 ml Solution contains: Latanoprost 50,0 ug | Not listed | 561204.120356/15.4/1204.1203 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Latanoprost
S4: Latanoprost
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6878
Pharmacological class: Others. (class 15.4)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Comarest, Ipharma (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.