Insulin glargine
Sold as Lantus, Optisulin, Basaglar, Tusjorus, Toujeo, Endulin, Endulin select, Insulin glargine mylan
No structure available
This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 4
- Registrations
- 10
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sanofi-aventis3 of 6 cancelled | Lantus, Optisulin, Tusjorus, Toujeo | 000 IU/10 ml 1, 3.64mg / 1ml, 100 IU/mL, 500 IU/5 ml | 340248, 340249, 340250, 410363, 491229, 491230 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Eli Lilly (S.A.) (Pty) Ltd | Basaglar | Not stated | 490708 | S3 | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Endulin | Not stated | 500940 | S3 | None |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) LtdCancelled | Endulin select, Insulin glargine mylan | Not stated | 510729, 510730.729 | S3 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lantus EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :INSULIN GLARGINE 100,0 iu | 3.64mg / 1mlInjection | 34024834/21.1/0248Approved 30 September 2016 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Lantus 500 iu/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 500,0 iu | 500 IU/5 ml | 34024934/21.1/0249 | Cancelled | S3 | None |
| Lantus 1 000 iu/10 ML EACH 10,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 1 000,0 iu | 000 IU/10 ml 1 | 34025034/21.1/0250 | Cancelled | S3 | None |
| Optisulin EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 3,64 mg | 100 IU/mLSolution for injection. | 41036341/21.1/0363Approved 31 March 2025 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Basaglar eACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS : INSULIN GLARGINE EQUIVALENT TO 3,64 mg | Not listed | 49070849/21.1/0708 | Registered | S3 | None |
| Tusjorus EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 300,0 Units | Not listed | 49122949/21.1/1229 | Cancelled | S3 | None |
| Toujeo EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 300,0 Units | Not listed | 49123049/21.1/1230 | Registered | S3 | None |
| Endulin EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 100,0 Units | Not listed | 50094050/21.1/0940 | Cancelled | S3 | None |
| Endulin select EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 100,0 Units | Not listed | 51072951/21.1/0729 | Cancelled | S3 | None |
| Insulin glargine mylan EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS INSULIN GLARGINE 100,0 Units | Not listed | 510730.72951/21.1/0730.729 | Cancelled | S3 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Insulin glargine
S3: Insulin glargine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3800
Pharmacological class: Insulin preparations. (class 21.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Lantus, Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S3 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.