Indomethacin
Sold as Gulf indomethacin, Amdocin, Xixia indomethacin, M-indomethacin, Adco-indogel, Aflamin, Indocid, Flamecid, Arthrexin, Rumacid, Indomethacin oethmaan, Restameth-sr, Elmetacin, Indomethacin biotech, Indoflex, Mediflex, Nisaid, Betacin, Flamaret, A-lennon indomethacin, Acuflex, Famethacin
2-[1-(4-Chlorobenzoyl)-5-methoxy-2-methylindol-3-yl]acetic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 3715.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 17
- Registrations
- 27
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Gulf indomethacin | 25 | 270136 | Not determined | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Amdocin | 25 mg | 270169 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Xixia indomethacin | capsules | 280020 | Not determined | None |
| Merck Generics Rsa (Pty) LtdCancelled | M-indomethacin | 25 mg | 280211 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited1 of 3 cancelled | Adco-indogel, Flamecid, Restameth-sr | 25 | 280219, K0174, S0300 | Not determined | None |
| Hexal Pharma (SA) (Pty) Ltd | Aflamin | Not stated | 280411 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited1 of 5 cancelled | Indocid, Arthrexin, A-lennon indomethacin | 25, 50, 100 mg, capsules | C0504, K0222, K0285, K0286, Z0145 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Msd (Pty) Ltd | Indocid | 100 | C0505 | Not determined | None |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelled | Flamecid, Indoflex | 50 | K0175, V0002 | Not determined | None |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Rumacid, Nisaid | 25 | M0211, X0323 | Not determined | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Indomethacin oethmaan | 25 | P0259 | Not determined | None |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Elmetacin | solution | T0173 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Indomethacin biotech, Famethacin | 25 mg | U0177, Z0278 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Shanur Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Mediflex | Not stated | X0167 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Betacin | 25 mg | X0347 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Flamaret | suppositories | X0370, Y0425 | Not determined | None |
| Resmed healthcare | Acuflex | Not stated | Z0219 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gulf indomethacin 25 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 | 27013627/3.1/0136 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amdocin EACHC CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 mgCapsules | 27016927/3.1/0169Approved 28 April 2024 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Xixia indomethacin capsules* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | Capsules | 28002028/3.1/0020 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| M-indomethacin 25 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 mg | 28021128/3.1/0211 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco-indogel EACH 1 g GEL CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 10 mg | Not listed | 28021928/3.1/0219 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Aflamin CAPSULE INDOMETHACIN 25 MG | Not listed | 28041128/3.1/0411 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Indocid 25 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN A 25 mg | 25 | C0504 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Indocid 100 EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN A 100,0 mg | 100 | C0505 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Flamecid 25 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 | K0174K/3.1/174 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Flamecid 50* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 50 mg | 50 | K0175K/3.1/175 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Arthrexin EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 100 MG | 100 mgSuppositories | K0222K/3.1/222Approved 23 August 2022 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Arthrexin 25 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 MG | 25 | K0285K/3.1/285 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Arthrexin-50 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 50 MG | 50 | K0286K/3.1/286 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Rumacid EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 100 mg | Not listed | M0211M/3.2/211 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Indomethacin 25 oethmaan EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 | P0259P/3.1/259 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Restameth-sr EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 75,0 mg | Not listed | S0300S/3.1/300 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elmetacin solution EACH GRAM SOLUTION CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 10,0 mg | Solution | T0173T/3.1/173 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Indomethacin biotech 25 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 mgCapsules | U0177U/3.1/177Approved 6 July 2023 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Indoflex* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | Not listed | V0002V/3.1/0002 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Mediflex EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25,0 mg | Not listed | X0167X/3.1/167 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nisaid 25 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25,0 mg | 25 | X0323X/3.1/323 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Betacin* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | 25 mgCapsule | X0347X/3.1/347Approved 22 December 2021 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Flamaret suppositories* EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 100 mg | Suppositories | X0370X/3.1/370 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Flamaret* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25,0 mg | Not listed | Y0425Y/3.1/425 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon indomethacin capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | Capsules | Z0145Z/3.1/145 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Acuflex EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | Not listed | Z0219Z/3.1/219 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Famethacin EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS :INDOMETHACIN 25 mg | Not listed | Z0278Z/3.1/0278 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Amdocin, Innovata pharmaceuticals is scheduled S3 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.