Fulvestrant
Sold as *Fulvestrant viatris, Eranfu, Fastelev, Fulvedex, Fuvistra, Desofal, Vesota, Fulvestrant sandoz, Frexivo, Actifulve for and actifulve diluent for, Fasatrant, Faslodex
(7R,8R,9S,13S,14S,17S)-13-Methyl-7-[9-(4,4,5,5,5-pentafluoropentylsulfinyl)nonyl]-6,7,8,9,11,12,14,15,16,17-decahydrocyclopenta[a]phenanthrene-3,17-diol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 104741.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 10
- Registrations
- 12
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | *Fulvestrant viatris | Not stated | 501066 | S4 | None |
| Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories (Pty) Ltd. | Eranfu | 250 mg / 5 mL | 510740 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Fastelev | 250 mg/5 ml | 520472 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Juno Pharma SA (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Kahma Biotech (Pty) Ltd | Fulvedex | 250 mg | 550531 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Fuvistra | Not stated | 560245 | S4 | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Aurogen SA (Pty) Ltd | Desofal, Vesota | 250 mg | 560405, 560406.405 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Fulvestrant sandoz | Not stated | 560415 | S4 | None |
| Astrazeneca Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Astrazeneca Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Limited, Astrazeneca | Frexivo, Faslodex | 250mg, 250mg / 5ml | 560606, A380656 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Actifulve for and actifulve diluent for | powder solution injection solution injection | 560716 | S4 | None |
| Abex Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Fasatrant | Not stated | 570365 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| *Fulvestrant viatris EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | Not listed | 50106650/21.12/1066 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Eranfu 250 EACH PRE-FILLED SYRINGE CONTAINS: FULVESTRANT 250.0 mg | 250 mg / 5 mLSolution for injection | 51074051/21.12/0740Approved 24 February 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fastelev EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: FULVESTRANT 50,0 mg | 250 mg/5 mlSolution for injection in pre-filled syringe. | 52047252/26/0472Approved 3 March 2020 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fulvedex 250 mg/5 ML FULVESTRANT | 250 mgInjection | 55053155/21.12/0531Approved 8 November 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fuvistra EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 500,0 mg | Not listed | 56024556/21.12/0245 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Desofal EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | 250 mgSolution for injection | 56040556/26/0405Approved 3 October 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Vesota EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | 250 mgSolution for injection | 560406.40556/26/0406.405Approved 3 October 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fulvestrant sandoz EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | Not listed | 56041556/21.12/0415 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Frexivo EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | 250mgSolution for injection | 56060656/21.12/0606Approved 15 March 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Actifulve powder for solution for injection and actifulve diluent for solution for injection EACH 10,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | Powder solution injection solution injection | 56071656/21.12/0716 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Fasatrant Each 5,0 ml Solution contains: Fulvestrant 250,0 mg | Not listed | 57036557/21.12/0365 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Faslodex EACH PRE-FILLED SYRINGE CONTAINS FULVESTRANT 250,0 mg | 250mg / 5mlInjection | A380656A38/21.12/0656Approved 7 June 2019 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Fulvestrant
S4: Fulvestrant
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6472
Pharmacological class: Hormone inhibitors. (class 21.12)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.