Fosfomycin
Sold as Unoril, Urizone, Fomnos, Uroseptic, Uticide, Foruri, Eurinic, Fosfomycin camox, Fosfomycin austell, Monuril, Utimycin, Fosfomycin ascend, Aurotract, Fosfomycin AURO
[(2R,3S)-3-Methyloxiran-2-yl]phosphonic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 446987.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 9
- Registrations
- 14
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adcock ingram limited | Unoril, Urizone, Monuril | 2 g, 3 g, 3g | 280479, 280480, 550357 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sandoz SA (Pty) Ltd1 | Fomnos | 3g | 520493 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Uroseptic | 3 g | 530246 | S4 | None |
| Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Uticide | 3 g | 530574 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Abex Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Foruri | 3 g | 530575.574 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Eurinic, Fosfomycin camox, Fosfomycin austell | 3 g | 540076, 540077.076, 540078.076 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Utimycin | Not stated | 560646 | S4 | None |
| Ascend Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Fosfomycin ascend | 3 g | 570697 | S4 | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Aurotract, Fosfomycin AURO | Not stated | 570838, 570839.838 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unoril 2 g* EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO 2 g FOSFOMYCIN | 2 g | 28047928/20.1.1/0479 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Urizone 3 g EACH SACHET CONTAINS :FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO 3 g FOSFOMYCIN | 3 g | 28048028/20.1.1/0480 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Fomnos EACH SACHET CONTAINS: FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3gPowder for oral solution | 52049352/20.1.1/0493Approved 18 December 2020 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Uroseptic 3 g EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 mg | 3 g | 53024653/20.1.1/0246 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Uticide EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3 gGranules for oral solution | 53057453/20.1.1/0574Approved 31 January 2024 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Foruri EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3 gGranules for oral solution | 530575.57453/20.1.1/0575.574Approved 16 May 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Eurinic 3 g EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3 gGranules for oral solution | 54007654/20.1.1/0076Approved 23 May 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fosfomycin 3 g camox EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3 gGranules for oral solution | 540077.07654/20.1.1/0077.076Approved 23 May 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Fosfomycin 3 g austell EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3 gGranules for oral solution | 540078.07654/20.1.1/0078.076Approved 23 May 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Monuril EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g. | 3gGranules | 55035755/20.1.1/0357Approved 25 July 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Utimycin EACH SACHET CONTAINS FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 mg | Not listed | 56064656/20.1.1/0646 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Fosfomycin 3 g ascend EACH SACHET CONTAINS: FOSFOMYCIN TROMETAMOL EQUIVALENT TO FOSFOMYCIN 3,0 g | 3 g | 57069757/20.1.1/0697 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Aurotract Each Sachet contains: Fosfomycin Trometamol equivalent to Fosfomycin 3,0 g | Not listed | 57083857/20.1.1/0838 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Fosfomycin AURO Each Sachet contains: Fosfomycin Trometamol equivalent to Fosfomycin 3,0 g | Not listed | 570839.83857/20.1.1/0839.838 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Fosfomycin trometamol equivalent to fosfomycin
S4: Fosfomycin
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6449
Pharmacological class: Broad and medium spectrum antibiotics. (class 20.1.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Fomnos, Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.