Skip to content
zameds

Fluticasone furoate

Sold as Genemist, Avamys, Furamist, Mysteva, Mysteva otc

S4Read from the PI-PIL document and verified
Loading the molecular structure
C27H29F3O6S538.60 g/mol

[(6S,8S,9R,10S,11S,13S,14S,16R,17R)-6,9-Difluoro-17-(fluoromethylsulfanylcarbonyl)-11-hydroxy-10,13,16-trimethyl-3-oxo-6,7,8,11,12,14,15,16-octahydrocyclopenta[a]phenanthren-17-yl] furan-2-carboxylate

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 9854489.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
3
Registrations
5
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) LimitedGenemist, Avamys27.5 _g410967, 410968S4PIPIL
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdFuramistNot stated570163Not determinedNone
Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdMysteva, Mysteva otcNot stated580116, 580117Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Genemist

EACH SPRAY CONTAINS FLUTICASONE FUROATE 27,5 ug

27.5 _gNasal spray suspension41096741/21.5.1/0967Approved 18 March 2021RegisteredS4PIPIL
Avamys

EACH SPRAY CONTAINS FLUTICASONE FUROATE 27,5 ug

27.5 _gNasal spray suspension41096841/21.5.1/0968Approved 18 March 2021RegisteredS4PIPIL
Furamist

EACH 50,0 µg SPRAY CONTAINS FLUTICASONE FUROATE 27,5 µg

Not listed57016357/21.5.1/0163RegisteredNot determinedNone
Mysteva

EACH SPRAY ACTUATION CONTAINS: FLUTICASONE FUROATE 27,5 μg

Not listed58011658/21.5.1/0116RegisteredNot determinedNone
Mysteva otc

EACH SPRAY ACTUATION CONTAINS: FLUTICASONE FUROATE 27,5 μg

Not listed58011758/21.5.1/0117RegisteredNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Fluticasone furoate

  • S4: Fluticasone furoate

    • when intended for nasal administration, as an aqueous spray, in the short-term (less than 6 months) prophylaxis and treatment of the symptoms of seasonal allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children over 12 years of age, subject to- (i) a maximum daily dose of 55 micrograms per nostril; and (ii) a maximum pack size limit of 120 doses. (S2)
    • when intended for inhalation or nasal administration. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 6411 to 6421

  • S3: Fluticasone furoate

    • when intended for inhalation or nasal administration;
    • except when intended for nasal administration, as an aqueous spray in the short-term (less than 6 months) prophylaxis and treatment of the symptoms of seasonal allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children over 12 years of age, subject to- (i) a maximum daily dose of 55 micrograms per nostril; and (ii) a maximum pack size limit of 120 doses. (S2)
    • except when intended for administration other than by inhalation or nasal administration. (S4)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3622 to 3639

  • S2: Fluticasone furoate

    • when intended for nasal administration, as an aqueous spray, in the short-term (less than 6 months) prophylaxis and treatment of the symptoms of seasonal allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children over 12 years of age, subject to- (i) a maximum daily dose of 55 micrograms per nostril; and (ii) a maximum pack size limit of 120 doses; (S3)
    • except when intended for administration other than by inhalation or nasal administration. (S4)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2033 to 2040

Pharmacological class: Corticosteroids and analogues. (class 21.5.1)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Genemist, Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) Limited is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles