Flunixin
Sold as Flunixaject, Fluxavet, Finadyne, Banamine, Cronyxin
2-[2-Methyl-3-(trifluoromethyl)anilino]pyridine-3-carboxylic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 38081.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 4
- Registrations
- 6
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vision Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Flunixaject | Not stated | 00/6 | Not determined | None |
| Elanco Animal Health (Pty) LtdCancelled | Fluxavet | injection | 12-Mar | Not determined | None |
| Intervet South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Finadyne, Banamine | injection, 20 mg | 83/63, 9-Jan, 91/3 | Not determined | None |
| Afrivet Business Management (Pty) Ltd | Cronyxin | Not stated | 99/15 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flunixaject EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FLUNIXIN MEGLUMINE A EQUIVALENT TO FLUNIXIN 50,0 mg | Not listed | 00/6 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Fluxavet injection EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FLUNIXIN MEGLUMINE EQUIVALENT TO FLUNIXIN 50,0 mg | Injection | 12-Mar03/2.6/12 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Finadyne injection EACH 1 ml CONTAINS FLUNIXIN MEGLUMINE EQUIVALENT TO FLUNIXIN 50 mg | Injection | 83/6383/2.6/63 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Banamine EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FLUNIXIN MEGLUMINE EQUIVALENT TO FLUNIXIN 50,0 mg | Not listed | 9-Jan01/2.6/9 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Finadyne 20 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS FLUNIXIN MEGLUMINE EQUIVALENT TO FLUNIXIN 20 mg | 20 mg | 91/391/2.6/3 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cronyxin EACH 1,0 ml LIQUID CONTAINS FLUNIXIN MEGLUMINE EQUIVALENT TO FLUNIXIN 50,0 mg | Not listed | 99/1599/2.6/15 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Florfenicol
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6345
S3: Flunixin
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3606
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.