Skip to content
zameds

Ethambutol, isoniazid, pyrazinamide, rifampicin

Sold as Rifafour e, Rimstar 4-fdc, Koxirip, Myrin-p forte, Ritib, Risopet

S4Read from the PI-PIL document and verified

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
6
Registrations
6
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sanofi-aventisCancelledRifafour e75mg, 150mg, 275mg, 400mg340187S4PIPIL
Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdRimstar 4-fdcNot stated350018Not determinedNone
Innovata pharmaceuticalsKoxiriptablets360494Not determinedNone
Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) LtdCancelledMyrin-p forteNot stated370667Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadRitibNot stated410723Not determinedNone
Pharma Dynamics (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Pharma Dynamics (Pty) LimitedRisopet150 mg , 75 mg , 400 mg and 275 mg420890S4PIPIL

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Rifafour e-275

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ETHAMBUTOL 275,0 mgISONIAZID 75,0 mgPYRAZINAMIDE 400,0 mgRIFAMPICIN 150,0 mg

150mg. 75mg. 400mg. 275mgTablet34018734/20.2.3/0187Approved 9 July 2018CancelledS4PIPIL
Rimstar 4-fdc

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ETHAMBUTOL 275,0 mg ISONIAZID 75,0 mg PYRAZINAMIDE 400,0 mg RIFAMPICIN 150,0 mg

Not listed35001835/20.2.3/0018RegisteredNot determinedNone
Koxirip tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ETHAMBUTOL 200,0 mg ISONIAZID 60,0 mg PYRAZINAMIDE 300,0 mg RIFAMPICIN 120,0 mg

Tablets36049436/20.2.3/0494RegisteredNot determinedNone
Myrin-p forte

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ETHAMBUTOL 275,0 mg ISONIAZID 75,0 mg PYRAZINAMIDE 400,0 mg RIFAMPICIN 150,0 mg

Not listed37066737/20.2.3/0667CancelledNot determinedNone
Ritib

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ETHAMBUTOL HYDROCHLORIDE 275,0 mg ISONIAZID 75,0 mg PYRAZINAMIDE 400,0 mg RIFAMPICIN 150,0 mg

Not listed41072341/20.2.3/0723RegisteredNot determinedNone
Risopet

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ETHAMBUTOL HYDROCHLORIDE 275,0 mg ISONIAZID 75,0 mg PYRAZINAMIDE 400,0 mg RIFAMPICIN 150,0 mg

150 mg , 75 mg , 400 mg and 275 mgFilm-coated tablets42089042/20.2.3/0890Approved 15 November 2023RegisteredS4PIPIL

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Ethambutol, isoniazid, pyrazinamide, rifampicin

  • S4: Ethambutol

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6284

  • S4: Isoniazid

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6819

  • S4: Pyrazinamide

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7685

  • S4: Rifampicin

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7802

  • S3: Pyrazinamide

    • when intended for oral use.

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4189

Pharmacological class: Tuberculostatics. (class 20.2.3)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Rifafour e-275, Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles