Emtricitabine, tenofovir disoproxil
Sold as Truvada, Tencitab, Tyricten, Truvir, Cipla-tenofovir/emtricitabine, Didivir, Adco emtevir, Temecit, Tenobine, Tenemine, Emtroc, Hetemcit plus, Emtewin, Tenemcom, Duotemtric, Tenem, Emcovir, Emten, Kaidavir, Tremdex, Emtebon, Mytenotrin, Prepetam, Notrifolar, Fobinolar
[(2R)-1-(6-Aminopurin-9-yl)propan-2-yl]oxymethylphosphonic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 464205.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 17
- Registrations
- 25
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Aspen pharmacare1 of 2 cancelled | Truvada, Tencitab | 200mg, 300mg | 410171, 430130 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Novagen Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Tyricten | 200/300 mg | 440086 | S4 | None |
| Aurobindo Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Truvir | Not stated | 440087 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cipla-tenofovir/emtricitabine | Not stated | 440445 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | Didivir | 200 mg / 300 mg | 440446 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Adcock ingram limited | Adco emtevir, Temecit, Tenobine | Not stated | 440835, 440836, 440837 | S4 | None |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Tenemine, Mytenotrin | 300 mg, 200 mg, 300 mg and 200 mg | 450112, 510711 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Emtroc, Kaidavir, Tremdex, Emtebon | tablets | 470188, 510260, 510261.26, 510262.26 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Hetemcit plus | Not stated | 470232 | S4 | None |
| Zentiva South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Emtewin | Not stated | 470304 | S4 | None |
| Specpharm (Pty) LtdCancelled | Tenemcom | Not stated | 470740 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) Ltd | Duotemtric | Not stated | 480775 | S4 | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticalsCancelled | Tenem | Not stated | 490539 | S4 | None |
| Barrs Pharmaceutical Industries (Pty) Ltd | Emcovir | Not stated | 500242 | S4 | None |
| Emcure- Pharmaceutical South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Emcure Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd. | Emten | 300 mg, 200 mg | 500243 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Prepetam | 200mg, 245mg, 300mg | 550350 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Laurus Generics SA (Pty) Ltd | Notrifolar, Fobinolar | 200mg & 300 mg | 560896, 570763 | Not determined | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Truvada EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE EQUIVALENT TO TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL 245,0 mg | 300mg. 200mgTablet | 41017141/20.2.8/0171Approved 27 November 2015 | Cancelled | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tencitab EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 43013043/20.2.8/0130 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tyricten 200/300 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 200/300 mgTablets | 44008644/20.2.8/0086 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Truvir EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44008744/20.2.8/0087 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cipla-tenofovir/emtricitabine EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44044544/20.2.8/0445 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Didivir EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 200 mg / 300 mgFilm-coated tablets | 44044644/20.2.8/0446Approved 13 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Adco emtevir EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44083544/20.2.8/0835 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Temecit EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44083644/20.2.8/0836 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tenobine EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44083744/20.2.8/0837 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tenemine EACH TABLET CONTAINS: TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg | 300 mg, 200 mgFilm coated tablet | 45011245/20.2.8/0112Approved 5 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Emtroc tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS:EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg, TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 47018847/20.2.8/0188 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hetemcit plus EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47023247/20.2.8/0232 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Emtewin EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47030447/20.2.8/0304 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tenemcom EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47074047/20.2.8/0740 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Duotemtric EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 48077548/20.2.8/0775 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tenem EACH TABLET CONTAINS : EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 49053949/20.2.8/0539 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Emcovir EACH TABLET CONTAINS : EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 50024250/20.2.8/0242 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Emten EACH TABLET CONTAINS : EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 300 mg, 200 mg.Tablets | 50024350/20.2.8/0243 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Kaidavir EACH TABLET CONTAINS:EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg; TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 51026051/20.2.8/0260 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tremdex tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS:EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg; TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 510261.2651/20.2.8/0261.260 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Emtebon EACH TABLET CONTAIN: EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg, TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 510262.2651/20.2.8/0262.260 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Mytenotrin EACH TABLET CONTAINS: TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg | 300 mg and 200 mgFilm coated tablet | 51071151/20.2.8/0711Approved 22 July 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Prepetam EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 300mg. 245mg. 200mgTablet | 55035055/20.2.8/0350Approved 10 February 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Notrifolar EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE EQUIVALENT TO TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL 300,0 mg | 200mg & 300 mgFilm-coated tablets. | 56089656/20.2.8/0896Approved 25 April 2026 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Fobinolar EACH TABLET CONTAINS EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE EQUIVALENT TO TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL 245,0 mg | Not listed | 5707635720.2.8/0763 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Emtricitabine, tenofovir disoproxil fumarate equivalent to tenofovir disoproxil
S4: Dolutegravir
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6100
S4: Efavirenz
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6159
S4: Emtricitabine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6178
S4: Lamivudine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6850
S4: Tenofovir
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8130
Pharmacological class: Antiviral agents. (class 20.2.8)
Matched through the components Efavirenz, Lamivudine, Emtricitabine, Dolutegravir.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Truvada, Pharmacare limited û woodmead is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.