Efavirenz, emtricitabine, tenofovir disoproxil
Sold as Atripla, Odimune, Trenvir, Tribuss, Atroiza, Heftenam, Comtrefev, Eftenem, Triploco, Rizene, Trivenz, Atenef, Citenvir, Truno, Triolar, Virtem, Virastiva, Trionce, Trivage, Triemta, Tripavir, Hetripco, Tabex, Teevir
Combination product
This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 14
- Registrations
- 24
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Msd (Pty) LtdCancelled | Atripla | Not stated | 420729 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd. | Odimune, Trenvir | 200 mg, 300 mg, 600 mg | 440779, 440780 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited | Tribuss | 200 mg, 300mg, 600mg | 440980 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Atroiza | Not stated | 450172 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Heftenam, Comtrefev, Hetripco, Tabex | Not stated | 460757, 470035, 510200, 510201 | S4 | None |
| Specpharm (Pty) LtdCancelled | Eftenem | Not stated | 470118 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Triploco, Rizene, Trivenz | 600 mg, 200 mg, 300 mg | 470326, 470327, 470328 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sonke Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Atenef | 600 mg, 200 mg, 300 mg | 470483 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Novagen Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Citenvir | Not stated | 470504 | S4 | None |
| Aurobindo Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Truno | 600/200/300 | 470572 | S4 | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Triolar, Trivage, Triemta, Tripavir | tablets | 471006, 510120, 510121.12, 510122.12 | S4 | None |
| Emcure- Pharmaceutical South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Virtem | Not stated | 490105 | S4 | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticalsCertificate held by Innovata Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Virastiva, Teevir | 300 mg, 600 mg, 200 mg | 490676, 510579 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Barrs Pharmaceutical Industries (Pty) Ltd | Trionce | Not stated | 500180 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atripla EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mgEMTRICITABINE 200,0 mgTENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 42072942/20.2.8/0729 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Odimune EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 200 mg, 300 mg, 600 mgFilm-coated tablets. | 44077944/20.2.8/0779Approved 23 October 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trenvir EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mgEMTRICITABINE 200,0 mgTENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 200 mg, 300 mg, 600 mgFilm-coated tablets. | 44078044/20.2.8/0780Approved 23 October 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tribuss EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 200 mg, 300mg, 600mgFilm-coated tablet | 44098044/20.2.8/0980Approved 25 November 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Atroiza EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 45017245/20.2.8/0172 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Heftenam EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 46075746/20.2.8/0757 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Comtrefev EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47003547/20.2.8/0035 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Eftenem EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47011847/20.2.8/0118 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Triploco EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 600 mg, 200 mg, 300 mgFilm-coated tablet. | 47032647/20.2.8/0326Approved 6 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Rizene EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 600 mg, 200 mg, 300 mgFilm-coated tablets | 47032747/20.2.8/0327Approved 6 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trivenz EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 600 mg, 200 mg, 300 mgFilm-coated tablets | 47032847/20.2.8/0328Approved 6 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Atenef EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 600 mg, 200 mg, 300 mgFilm-coated tablets | 47048347/20.2.8/0483Approved 20 July 2018 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Citenvir EACH TABLET CONTAINS: EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg, EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg , TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47050447/20.2.8/0504 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Truno 600/200/300 EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | 600/200/300 | 47057247/20.2.8/0572 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Triolar EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 47100647/20.2.8/1006 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Virtem EACH TABLET CONTAINS :EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg, EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg, TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 49010549/20.2.8/0105 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Virastiva EACH TABLET CONTAINS : EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 49067649/20.2.8/0676 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Trionce EACH TABLET CONTAINS : EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 50018050/20.2.8/0180 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Trivage tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS :EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg, EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg, TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 51012051/20.2.8/0120 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Triemta tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 510121.1251/20.2.8/0121.120 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tripavir tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 510122.1251/20.2.8/0122.120 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hetripco EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg; EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg; TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 51020051/20.2.8/0200 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tabex EACH TABLET CONTAINS EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg; EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg; TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 51020151/20.2.8/0201 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Teevir EACH TABLET CONTAINS: TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg EFAVIRENZ 600,0 mg EMTRICITABINE 200,0 mg | 300 mg, 600 mg, 200 mgFilm-coated tablets. | 51057951/20.2.8/0579Approved 17 February 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence medium.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Efavirenz, emtricitabine, tenofovir disoproxil fumarate
S4: Efavirenz
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6159
S4: Emtricitabine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6178
S4: Tenofovir
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8130
Pharmacological class: Antiviral agents. (class 20.2.8)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Odimune, Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.