Skip to content
zameds

Dobutamine

Sold as Sabax dobutamine, Dobutamine fresenius, Intramed dobutamine pwd, Posiject, Sandoz dobutamine, Pharma-q dobutamine, Aspen dobutamine, SPEC dobutamine, Cardiject

S4

No structure available

This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
9
Registrations
9
Schedule source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) LtdSabax dobutamine250 mg/20 ml270405S4None
Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) LtdDobutamine fresenius250 mg/20 ml290345S4None
Bodene (Pty) Ltd Trading As IntramedCancelledIntramed dobutamine pwdNot stated290433S4None
Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdPosijectNot stated300359S4None
Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) LtdSandoz dobutamine200310699S4None
Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) LtdPharma-q dobutamine12,5 mg/ml320109S4None
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelledAspen dobutamine12,5 mg/ml340041S4None
Specpharm (Pty) LtdSPEC dobutamine12,5 mg/ml410926S4None
Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelledCardiject250A390609S4None

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Sabax dobutamine 250 mg/20 ML

EACH 20 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg DOBUTAMINE

250 mg/20 ml27040527/6.1/0405RegisteredS4None
Dobutamine 250 mg/20 ML fresenius

EACH 20 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS :DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TODOBUTAMINE 250 mg

250 mg/20 ml29034529/6.1/0345RegisteredS4None
Intramed dobutamine pwd

EACH VIAL CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg DOBUTAMINE

Not listed29043329/6.1/0433CancelledS4None
Posiject

EACH 1 ml CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOBUTAMINE 50 mg

Not listed30035930/6.1/0359RegisteredS4None
Sandoz dobutamine 200

EACH 20,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOBUTAMINE 250,0 mg

20031069931/6.1/0699RegisteredS4None
Pharma-q dobutamine injection 12,5 mg/ml

EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOBUTAMINE 12,5 mg

12,5 mg/mlInjection32010932/6.1/0109RegisteredS4None
Aspen dobutamine 12,5 mg/ml

EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOBUTAMINE 12,5 mg

12,5 mg/ml34004134/6.1/0041CancelledS4None
SPEC dobutamine 12,5 mg/ml

EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOBUTAMINE 12,5 mg

12,5 mg/ml41092641/6.1/0926RegisteredS4None
Cardiject 250

EACH VIAL CONTAINS DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOBUTAMINE 25,0 mg

250A390609A39/6.1/0609CancelledS4None

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Dobutamine hydrochloride equivalent to dobutamine

  • S4: Dobutamine

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6089

Pharmacological class: Cardiac stimulants. (class 6.1)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles