Skip to content
zameds

Dihydrocodeine

Sold as Df, Paracodin

Loading the molecular structure
C18H23NO3301.40 g/mol

(4R,4AR,7S,7aR,12bS)-9-methoxy-3-methyl-2,4,4a,5,6,7,7a,13-octahydro-1H-4,12-methanobenzofuro[3,2-e]isoquinolin-7-ol

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5284543.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
3
Registrations
4

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadDf118B0726, B0730Not determinedNone
Holpro Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelledParacodinNot statedB1040Not determinedNone
Abbott Laboratories S.A. (Pty) LtdParacodinNot statedB1041Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Df 118 tablets

TABLET DIHYDROCODEINE TARTRATE A 30 MG

118TabletsB0726Old MedicineNot determinedNone
Df 118 injection

1 ML DIHYDROCODEINE TARTRATE A 50 MG

118InjectionB0730Old MedicineNot determinedNone
Paracodin

TABLET DIHYDROCODEINE TARTRATE A 10 MG

Not listedB1040CancelledNot determinedNone
Paracodin

5 ml DIHYDROCODEINE TARTRATE A 12,1 mg

Not listedB1041Old MedicineNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.

Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product

  • S6: Dihydrocodeine

    • single component dihydrocodeine preparations;
    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export; (S2, S3)
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export. (S2, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10172 to 10180

  • S3: Dihydrocodeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days; (S2)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres; (S2)
    • except single component dihydrocodeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3438 to 3464

  • S2: Dihydrocodeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit; (S3)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of dihydrocodeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit; (S3)
    • except single component dihydrocodeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1832 to 1852

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles