Dexmedetomidine
Sold as Dexdomitor, Precedex, Sedalpha, Eccladex, Adcopres, Dexisun, Sedmedex, Sesodex, Tomexa, Eusedex, Dexithera, Intudex, Dexmedetomidine b. Braun, Dexsedate, Dexmirub, Dexumex rtu, Prexuject rtu, Sedmedex rtu
5-[(1S)-1-(2,3-Dimethylphenyl)ethyl]-1H-imidazole
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5311068.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 14
- Registrations
- 28
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoetis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Dexdomitor | Not stated | 17-Aug | S5 | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Precedex, Eusedex | 1 mL | 340239, 560850 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Accord Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Sedalpha | 100 μg/ml | 480969 | S5 | None |
| Equity Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Equity Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd. | Eccladex | 100 ug/ml | 500374 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | Adcopres | Not stated | 530717 | S5 | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Dexisun | 100,0 μg | 540218 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Juno Pharma SA (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Kahma Biotech (Pty) Ltd | Sedmedex, Sedmedex rtu | 50 ml, 100 μg, 100 ml | 540696, 590983, 590984 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Sesodex, Intudex | 200 μg | 550841, 560992 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacorp (Pty) Ltd | Tomexa | 200 µg/2 ml, 400 µg/4 ml, 1000 µg/10 ml | 560233, 560234, 560235 | S5 | None |
| Abbott Laboratories S.A. (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Abbott Laboratories South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Dexithera | 4 μg, 100 µg/ml 2 ml, 100 µg/ml 4 ml, 100 µg/ml 10 ml | 560938, 560939, 560940, 560941 | S5 | PIPIL |
| B Braun Medical (Pty) Ltd | Dexmedetomidine b. Braun | 000 μg 1, 200 μg, 400 μg | 570631, 570632, 570633 | S5 | None |
| Pharma-q (Pty) Ltd | Dexsedate | Not stated | 570783 | S5 | None |
| Ruby Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Dexmirub | Not stated | 580261 | S5 | None |
| Abex Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Dexumex rtu, Prexuject rtu | 200 μg/50 ml, 400 μg/100 ml | 590096, 590097, 590098.096, 590099.097 | S5 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dexdomitor EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE 0,5 mg | Not listed | 17-Aug08/1.4.2/17 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Precedex EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE 100,0 ug | 1 mLConcentrated solution for intravenous infusion. | 34023934/2.9/0239Approved 16 May 2023 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Sedalpha 100 μg/ml EACH 1,0 ML CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 100,0 μg | 100 μg/ml | 48096948/2.9/0969 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Eccladex EACH 1,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE 100,0 μg | 100 ug/mlConcentrated solution for intravenous infusion. | 50037450/2.9/0374Approved 11 April 2025 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Adcopres EACH VIAL CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 100,0 mcg | Not listed | 53071753/2.9/0717 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexisun | 100,0 μgConcentrated solution for intravenous infusion | 54021854/2.9/0218Approved 21 June 2022 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Sedmedex 100 μg/ml DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE | 100 μgInjection | 54069654/2.9/0696Approved 21 February 2023 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Sesodex DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE | 200 μgConcentrate for solution for infusion | 55084155/2.9/0841Approved 7 February 2023 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Tomexa 200 µg/2 ML EACH 2,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 µg | 200 µg/2 ml | 56023356/2.2/0233 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Tomexa 400 µg/4 ML EACH 4,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 400,0 µg | 400 µg/4 ml | 560234560/2.2/0234 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Tomexa 1000 µg/10 ML EACH 10,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1000,0 µg | 1000 µg/10 ml | 56023556/2.2/0235 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Eusedex DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE | 1 mLConcentrated solution for intravenous infusion. | 56085056/2.9/0850Approved 16 May 2023 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Dexithera 4 μg/ml EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 4,0 μg | 4 μgSolution for infusion | 56093856/2.9/0938Approved 2 September 2025 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Dexithera 100 µg/ml 2 ML EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 µg | 100 µg/ml 2 ml | 56093956/2.9/0939 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexithera 100 µg/ml 4 ML EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 µg | 100 µg/ml 4 ml | 56094056/2.9/0940 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexithera 100 µg/ml 10 ML EACH VIAL CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1 000 µg | 100 µg/ml 10 ml | 56094156/2.9/0941 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Intudex EACH VIAL CONTAINS DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 200,0 μg | Not listed | 56099256/2.9/0992 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexmedetomidine 200 μg b. Braun EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO: DEXMEDETOMIDINE 200,0 μg | 200 μg | 57063157/2.9/0631 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexmedetomidine 400 μg b. Braun EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO: DEXMEDETOMIDINE 400,0 μg | 400 μg | 57063257/2.9/0632 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexmedetomidine 1 000 μg b. Braun EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO: DEXMEDETOMIDINE 1 000,0 μg | 000 μg 1 | 57063357/2.9/0633 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexsedate EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 100,0 μg | Not listed | 57078357/2.9/0783 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexmirub EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 100,0 μg | Not listed | 58026158/2.9/0261 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexumex 200 μg/50 ML rtu EACH VIAL CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 200,0 μg | 200 μg/50 ml | 59009659/2.9/0096 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Dexumex 400 μg/100 ML rtu EACH VIAL CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 400,0 μg | 400 μg/100 ml | 59009759/2.9/0097 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Prexuject 200 μg/50 ML rtu EACH VIAL CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 200,0 μg | 200 μg/50 ml | 590098.09659/2.9/0098.096 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Prexuject 400 μg/100 ML rtu EACH VIAL CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 400,0 μg | 400 μg/100 ml | 590099.09759/2.9/0099.097 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Sedmedex rtu 50 ML EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 4,0 μg | 50 ml | 59098359/2.9/0983 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Sedmedex rtu 100 ML EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: DEXMEDETOMIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DEXMEDETOMIDINE 4,0 μg | 100 ml | 590984 | Registered | S5 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S5 sits on the scale
Prescription-only, with tighter controls on repeats.
Schedule 5 medicines need a prescription, and repeat dispensing is capped at six months in total; the prescriber must state upfront how many times, and at what intervals, it may be repeated. Extra limits apply to some uses: if it is being used for its anxiolytic, antidepressant, tranquillising or analgesic properties, it cannot be prescribed for longer than six months without a further consultation. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S5, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Dexmedetomidine
S5: Dexmedetomidine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 9377
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Precedex, Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S5 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.