Skip to content
zameds

Dexamethasone, tobramycin

Sold as Nebcin co eye, Mydex, Octudex, Tobroft, Xamflam, Tobradex eye

S4

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
5
Registrations
7
Schedule source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadNebcin co eyedrops460047S4None
Gen-eye (Pty) LtdMydexNot stated460196S4None
Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdOctudexNot stated511074S4None
Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdTobroft, Xamflam1 mg, 3 mg540408, 540409.408S4PIPIL
Novartis South Africa (Pty) LtdTobradex eyedrops, ointmentX0091, X0092S4None

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Nebcin co eye drops

EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg

Drops46004746/15.3/0047RegisteredS4None
Mydex

Each 1ml contains: Tobramycin 3,0 mg and Dexamethasone 1,0 mg

Not listed46019646/15.3/0196RegistreredS4None
Octudex

Each 1,0 ml contains TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg and DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg

Not listed51107451/15.3/1074RegisteredS4None
Tobroft

EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg

1 mg, 3 mgEye drops54040854/15.3/0408Approved 4 April 2023RegisteredS4PIPIL
Xamflam

EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg

1 mg, 3 mgEye drops540409.40854/15.3/0409.408Approved 4 April 2023RegisteredS4PIPIL
Tobradex eye drops

EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg

DropsX0091X/15.3/91RegisteredS4None
Tobradex eye ointment

EACH 1,0 g OPHTHALMIC OINTMENT CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg

OintmentX0092X/15.3/92RegisteredS4None

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence medium.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Dexamethasone, tobramycin

  • S4: Dexamethasone

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6001

  • S4: Tobramycin

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8234

Pharmacological class: Combination antibiotics. (class 15.3)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Tobroft, Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles