Dexamethasone
Sold as Dexadreson, Decasone forte, Pharma-q dexamethasone phosphate c/a, Dexagel, Dexona, Tagalon, Ozurdex, Dexamethasone aspen, Neofordex, Opteradex, Kortico, Dexa phenix, Colvasone inj, Dexafort, Domex, Dexamedium, Dexamethasone fresenius, Decadron, Decadron phosphate, Maxidex, Spersadex, Decasone
(8S,9R,10S,11S,13S,14S,16R,17R)-9-Fluoro-11,17-dihydroxy-17-(2-hydroxyacetyl)-10,13,16-trimethyl-6,7,8,11,12,14,15,16-octahydrocyclopenta[a]phenanthren-3-one
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5743.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 16
- Registrations
- 25
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intervet South Africa (Pty) Ltd2 of 3 cancelled | Dexadreson, Dexafort, Dexamedium | Not stated | 11-12, 83/783, 88/2 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited3 of 6 cancelled | Decasone forte, Dexamethasone aspen, Decasone | 0,4 mg/ml, 0,5 mg, 4 mg, 100mg/5ml | 300382, 500876, 500877, W0343, W0344, Z0285 | S4 | PI |
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | Pharma-q dexamethasone phosphate c/a | 4 mg/1 ml | 330512 | S4 | None |
| Soflens (Pty) LtdCancelled | Dexagel | 0,985mg/g | 370275 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Zydus Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Dexona | 4 mg/1 ml | 410225 | S4 | None |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Tagalon, Opteradex | 0,1 %, 4 mg/ml | 410814, 560586 | S4 | None |
| Abbvie (Pty) Ltd | Ozurdex | 700 _g per implan | 440045 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Key Oncologics (Pty) Ltd | Neofordex | 40 mg | 540323 | S4 | None |
| Elanco Animal Health (Pty) Ltd | Kortico | injection | 83/107 | S4 | None |
| Virbac Rsa (Pty) Ltd | Dexa phenix | 0,2 | 83/267 | S4 | None |
| Kyron Animal Health (Pty) Ltd | Colvasone inj | Not stated | 83/43 | S4 | None |
| Sanvet (Pty) LtdCancelled | Domex | gel | 83/81 | S4 | None |
| Fresenius Kabi Manufacturing SA (Pty) Ltd | Dexamethasone fresenius | 4 mg/1 ml | A400748 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Msd (Pty) Ltd | Decadron, Decadron phosphate | tablets, injection | G3112, G3113 | S4 | None |
| Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Maxidex | 1 mg / ml | H1143 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Adcock ingram limited | Spersadex | 1 mg/mL | H1285 | S4 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dexadreson EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE 2,0 mg | Not listed | 11-1211/12.3/12 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Decasone forte EACH 5 ml CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 100 mg DEXAMETHASONE | 100mg/5mlInjection | 30038230/21.5.1/0382Approved 13 March 1998 | Cancelled | S4 | PI |
| Pharma-q dexamethasone phosphate injection 4 mg/1 ML c/a EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE PHOSPHATE 4,0 mg | 4 mg/1 mlInjection | 33051233/21.5.1/0512 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Dexagel EACH 1,0 g GEL CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE 0,985 mg | 0,985mg/gEye gel | 37027537/15.2/0275Approved 27 October 2022 | Cancelled | S4 | PIPIL |
| Dexona injection 4 mg/1 ML EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE PHOSPHATE 4,0 mg | 4 mg/1 mlInjection | 41022541/21.5.1/0225 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tagalon 4 mg/ml EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE 4,0 mg | 4 mg/ml | 41081441/21.5.1/0814 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Ozurdex EACH INTRAVITREAL IMPLANT CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 700,0 ug | 700 _g per implanIntravitreal implant in applicator | 44004544/15.2/0045Approved 21 April 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Dexamethasone 0,5 MG aspen EACH TABLET CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mg | 50087650/21.5.1/0876 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Dexamethasone 4 MG aspen EACH TABLET CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 4,0 mg | 4 mg | 50087750/21.5.1/0877 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Neofordex 40 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE ACETATE EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE 40,0 mg | 40 mgTablets | 54032354/32/0323 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Opteradex 0,1 % EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE PHOSPHATE 1,0 mg | 0,1 % | 56058656/15.2/0586 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Kortico injection EACH 1 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE A 2,0 mg | Injection | 83/107 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Dexa 0,2 phenix EACH 1 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE A 2,64 mg | 0,2 | 83/267 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Colvasone inj EACH 1 ml CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE A 2 mg | Not listed | 83/43 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Dexafort EACH 1,0 ml INJECTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE A 2,0 mg DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE A EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE 1,0 mg | Not listed | 83/783 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Domex gel EACH 1 g GEL CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE A 0,1 mg | Gel | 83/81 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Dexamedium EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 0,85 mg | Not listed | 88/288/22.3/2 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Dexamethasone 4 MG /1 ML fresenius EACH 1,0 ml AMPOULE CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO DEXAMETHASONE PHOSPHATE 4,0 mg | 4 mg/1 mlSolution for injection. | A400748A40/21.5.1/0748Approved 13 December 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Decadron tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE A 0,5 mg | Tablets | G3112 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Decadron phosphate injection EACH 1 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE A 4 mg | Injection | G3113 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Maxidex | 1 mg / mlEye drops | H1143Approved 23 February 2024 | Old Medicine | S4 | PIPIL |
| Spersadex 0,1 % EACH 1 ml CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE A 1,0 mg | 1 mg/mLSterile eye drops, solution. | H1285Approved 3 June 2022 | Old Medicine | S4 | PIPIL |
| Decasone 0,5 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablets | W0343W/21.5.1/343 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Decasone 4 MG tablet EACH TABLET CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE 4 mg | 4 mgTablet | W0344W/21.5.1/344 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Decasone injection 0,4 mg/ml EACH 1 ml AMPOULE CONTAINS DEXAMETHASONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE 4 mg | 0,4 mg/mlInjection | Z0285Z/21.5.1/285 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Dexamethasone sodium phosphate equivalent to dexamethasone
S4: Dexamethasone
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6001
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Decasone forte, Pharmacare limited û woodmead is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.