Colchicine
Sold as Aspen colchicine ds, Kolcrys, Colchicine activo, Podagra, Goutcha, Gouteze otc, Colcin, Colchicine unicorn, Cinwol, Choldix, Cinited, Uricid, Colnova, Colchicine viatris, Colcirex, Goutrelefe, Aspen colchicine
N-[(7S)-1,2,3,10-Tetramethoxy-9-oxo-6,7-dihydro-5H-benzo[a]heptalen-7-yl]acetamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 6167.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 12
- Registrations
- 18
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited | Aspen colchicine ds, Aspen colchicine | 0,5 mg, 1.0mg | 410260, C0822 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Forrester Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Kolcrys | 0,5 mg | 500484 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Colchicine activo | 0,5 mg | 500836 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Podagra | Not stated | 501037 | Not determined | None |
| Abex Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Goutcha, Gouteze otc, Colcin | 0,5 mg | 510357, 510358, 510359.358 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Colchicine unicorn | 0,5 | 530024 | Not determined | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) Ltd1 of 3 cancelled | Cinwol, Choldix, Cinited | 0,5 mg | 550162, 550163.162, 550164.162 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Uricid | 0.5 mg | 550337.336 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Novagen Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Colnova | 0,5 mg | 550784 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Colchicine viatris | Not stated | 560805 | Not determined | None |
| Ascend Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Colcirex | 0,5 mg | 570297 | Not determined | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Goutrelefe | 0,5, 1 | 570424, 570425 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aspen colchicine ds EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE 1,0 mg | 1.0mgTablet | 41026041/3.3/0260Approved 26 November 2015 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Kolcrys EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablets | 50048450/3.3/0484Approved 29 March 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Colchicine 0,5 MG activo Each tablet contains COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mg | 50083650/3.3/0836 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Podagra Each Tablet contains: Colchicine 0,5 mg | Not listed | 50103750/3.3/1037 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Goutcha Each tablet contains COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | Not listed | 51035751/3.3/0357 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gouteze otc EACH TABLET CONTAINS :COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablets | 51035851/3.3/0358Approved 14 December 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Colcin EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablets | 510359.35851/3.3/0359.358Approved 14 December 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Colchicine 0,5 unicorn EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 | 53002453/3.3/0024 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cinwol 0,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablet | 55016255/3.3/0162Approved 26 July 2022 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Choldix 0,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mg | 550163.16255/3.3/0163.162 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cinited 0,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablet | 550164.16255/3.3/0164.162Approved 26 July 2022 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Uricid 0,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0.5 mgTablet | 550337.33655/3.3/0337.336Approved 28 February 2023 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Colnova 0,5 EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mgTablet | 55078455/3.3/0784Approved 4 April 2023 | Cancelled | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Colchicine viatris EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | Not listed | 56080556/3.3/0805 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Colcirex 0,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 mg | 57029757/3.3/0297 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Goutrelefe 0,5 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 0,5 mg | 0,5 | 57042457/3.3/0424 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Goutrelefe 1 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: COLCHICINE 1,0 mg | 1 | 57042557/3.3/0425 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Aspen colchicine 0,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS COLCHICINE A 0,5 mg | 0,5 mg | C0822 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S2 sits on the scale
A pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription.
Schedule 2 medicines sit behind the pharmacy counter. A pharmacist can decide to sell one of these directly, using their own professional judgement, without a doctor's prescription. It can also be dispensed against a prescription like the higher tiers, in which case the usual repeat limits apply. A child under 12 may only be sold a Schedule 2 substance on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises. Even though it cannot be advertised to the public in the ordinary sense, its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S2, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S3; the leaflet's S2 applies to this product.
Who may supply: Only a pharmacist, pharmacist intern or supervised pharmacist's assistant may sell it without a prescription. It may otherwise be dispensed by a pharmacist against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Colchicine
S3: Colchicine
- except when intended for the emergency treatment of acute gout, subject to a maximum total treatment course of 6 milligrams. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3374 to 3375
S2: Colchicine
- when intended for the emergency treatment of acute gout, subject to a maximum total treatment course of 6 milligrams. (S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1780 to 1781
Pharmacological class: Anti-gout preparations. (class 3.3)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Aspen colchicine ds, Pharmacare limited û woodmead is scheduled S2 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.