Skip to content
zameds

Codeine, paracetamol, promethazine

Sold as Astrapain, Vacudol, Goldgesic, Adco-salterpyn, Kid-eeze, Gsa-para-cod-prometh s, Stopayne, Tenston, Lentogesic, Stilpane, Infapain forte, Pedpain, Painagon, Ban pain, Mepromol, Megapyn, Synaleve paediatric, Pyngesic forte, Adco-kiddipayne, Dynapayne, Lesspain /stroop, Depain, Dimiprol

S2Read from the PI-PIL document and verified

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
10
Registrations
23
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Astral Pharma (Pty) LtdAstrapain120 mg270139Not determinedPIPIL
Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdVacudolsyrup270229Not determinedNone
Shanur Healthcare (Pty) LtdGoldgesic, Kid-eezesyrup270242, 280423Not determinedNone
Adcock ingram limited9 of 10 cancelledAdco-salterpyn, Gsa-para-cod-prometh s, Stopayne, Lentogesic, Mepromol, Synaleve paediatric, Adco-kiddipayne, Lesspain /stroop, Depain, Dimiprolsyrup, syrup/stroop270575, 280463, B0867, F0261, X0174, X0281, X0413, Y0323, Z0161, Z0399Not determinedNone
The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelledTenstonNot statedB1126Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited3 of 4 cancelledStilpane, Pedpain, Ban pain, Megapyn10 mg/200 mg/350 mg, syrupG0968, Q0245, X0032, X0241S2PIPIL
Alliance Pharma (Pty) LtdInfapain forteNot statedN0101Not determinedNone
Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdPainagon5 mlS0029S2PIPIL
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdPyngesic fortesyrupX0299Not determinedNone
Aquila Healthcare (Pty) LtdDynapaynesyrupY0238Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Astrapain syrup

EACH 5 ML SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 MG PARACETAMOL 120 MG PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 MG

120 mgSyrup27013927/2.8/0139Approved 31 December 2023RegisteredNot determinedPIPIL
Vacudol syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Syrup27022927/2.8/0229RegisteredNot determinedNone
Goldgesic syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Syrup27024227/2.8/0242RegisteredNot determinedNone
Adco-salterpyn syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Syrup27057527/2.8/0575CancelledNot determinedNone
Kid-eeze

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS :CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg, PARACETAMOL 120 mg, PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Not listed28042328/2.8/0423RegisteredNot determinedNone
Gsa-para-cod-prometh s

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,50 mg

Not listed28046328/2.8/0463CancelledNot determinedNone
Stopayne syrup

EACH 5 ml CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupB0867B/2.8/867RegisteredNot determinedNone
Tenston

EACH 5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 5 mg PARACETAMOL A 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE A 7 mg

Not listedB1126CancelledNot determinedNone
Lentogesic syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupF0261F/2.8/261CancelledNot determinedNone
Stilpane syrup

EACH 5 ml CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 5 mg PARACETAMOL A 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE A 6,5 mg

10 mg/200 mg/350 mgSyrupG0968Approved 1 July 2024Old MedicineS2PIPIL
Infapain forte

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5,0 mg PARACETAMOL 120,0 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Not listedN0101N/2.9/101RegisteredNot determinedNone
Pedpain

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Not listedQ0245Q/2.9/245CancelledNot determinedNone
Painagon syrup*

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

5 mlSyrupS0029S/2.8/29Approved 25 August 2023RegisteredS2PIPIL
Ban pain syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupX0032X/2.8/32CancelledNot determinedNone
Mepromol syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupX0174X/2.8/174CancelledNot determinedNone
Megapyn syrup

EACH 5 ml CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5,0 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupX0241X/2.8/241CancelledNot determinedNone
Synaleve paediatric syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupX0281X/2.8/281CancelledNot determinedNone
Pyngesic forte syrup

EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5,0 mg PARACETAMOL 120,0 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupX0299X/2.8/299RegisteredNot determinedNone
Adco-kiddipayne

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

Not listedX0413X/2.8/413CancelledNot determinedNone
Dynapayne syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupY0238Y/2.8/238RegisteredNot determinedNone
Lesspain - syrup/stroop

EAVH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

-Syrup/stroopY0323Y/2.8/323CancelledNot determinedNone
Depain syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupZ0161Z/2.8/161CancelledNot determinedNone
Dimiprol syrup

EACH 5 ml CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5,0 mg PARACETAMOL 120 mg PROMETHAZINE HYDROCHLORIDE 6,5 mg

SyrupZ0399Z/2.8/399CancelledNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

Where S2 sits on the scale

A pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription.

Schedule 2 medicines sit behind the pharmacy counter. A pharmacist can decide to sell one of these directly, using their own professional judgement, without a doctor's prescription. It can also be dispensed against a prescription like the higher tiers, in which case the usual repeat limits apply. A child under 12 may only be sold a Schedule 2 substance on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises. Even though it cannot be advertised to the public in the ordinary sense, its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S2, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S6; the leaflet's S2 applies to this product.

Who may supply: Only a pharmacist, pharmacist intern or supervised pharmacist's assistant may sell it without a prescription. It may otherwise be dispensed by a pharmacist against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Codeine phosphate, paracetamol, promethazine hydrochloride

  • S6: Codeine

    • single component codeine preparations;
    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export; (S2, S3)
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export. (S2, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10128 to 10136

  • S3: Codeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
    • except single component codeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3350 to 3372

  • S3: Paracetamol

    • when intended for injection.

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4093

  • S2: Codeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days, and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit; (S3)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit; (S3)
    • except single component codeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1758 to 1778

  • S2: Paracetamol

    • when contained in rectal suppositories, or
    • when contained in modified release formulations. (S0, S1, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2496 to 2500

  • S2: Promethazine

    • when intended for use as an antihistamine, and
    • when intended for application to the skin, and
    • when intended specifically for the treatment of travel sickness. (S5)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2586 to 2592

  • S1: Paracetamol

    • immediate release tablets or capsules each containing 500 milligrams or less of paracetamol, or in individually wrapped powders or in sachets containing 1 000 milligrams or less of paracetamol, subject to - (i) a maximum of 12,5 grams of paracetamol per primary pack, and (ii) in the case of tablets or capsules, presented in blister strip packaging or in containers with child-resistant closures; and (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
    • in liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres or in paediatric drops containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 1,2 millilitres, subject to - (i) a maximum of 100 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres; (ii) a maximum of 20 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the paediatric drops; (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
    • when contained in rectal suppositories. (S2)
    • when contained in modified release formulations. (S2)
    • when intended for injection. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 958 to 997

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles