Codeine, paracetamol
Sold as Amstil, Dino-cod, Pyngesicfizz co, Austell-co-codamol, Varipan co, Nitrocod, Xpelpyn, Cetaphos, Panado-co, Restapyn, Medicod, Paracetacod, Adco napacod, Zeropyn, Kodapon, *Zypol co, Prolief plus, Dolorol forte, Supragesic, Spectrapain, Infapain, Gsa-paracetamol-codeine, Painamol plus, Painrite SA, Famcod, Empacod, Tensopyn paediatric, Cogesic, Codorol, Cod-pain, Merck-gesic, Paincodein, Novodol-co
Combination product
This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 20
- Registrations
- 36
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Amstil, Famcod, Cod-pain | Not stated | 270012, Q0279, X0295 | Not determined | None |
| FDC SA (Pty) Ltd | Dino-cod | tablets | 270414 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Pyngesicfizz co, Tensopyn paediatric | syrup | 350023, W0023 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Austell-co-codamol | Not stated | 370097 | Not determined | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Varipan co | 500 mg/8 mg | 370261 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Aquila Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Nitrocod | Not stated | B0777 | Not determined | None |
| Universal Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Xpelpyn | Not stated | B0843 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited5 of 6 cancelled | Cetaphos, Panado-co, Paracetacod, Adco napacod, Zeropyn, Gsa-paracetamol-codeine | tablets, 10 mg, 500 mg | B0854, B1141, B1329, B1401, F0155, N0132 | S3 | PIPIL |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelled | Restapyn, Medicod, Paracetacod, Zeropyn, Prolief plus | tablets, syrup | B1235, B1289, B1328, B1402, B1619 | Not determined | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Kodapon | Not stated | B1473 | Not determined | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | *Zypol co | Not stated | B1523 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead1 of 3 cancelled | Dolorol forte, Painrite SA | syrup | G0116, N0175, Q0241 | Not determined | None |
| Astral Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Supragesic, Paincodein | syrup, tablets | H0129, Y0306 | Not determined | None |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Spectrapain, Infapain | Not stated | N0080, N0100 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) Ltd | Painamol plus | tablets | P0311 | Not determined | None |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Empacod | Not stated | S0137 | Not determined | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Cogesic | Not stated | X0109 | Not determined | None |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Codorol | tablets | X0176 | Not determined | None |
| Nkunzi pharmaceuticals | Merck-gesic | tablets | Y0151 | Not determined | None |
| Medicine Developers International (Pty) Ltd | Novodol-co | tablets | Z0025 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amstil EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | 27001227/2.8/0012 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Dino-cod tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | Tablets | 27041427/2.9/0414 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pyngesicfizz co EACH EFFERVESCENT TABLET CONTAINS: CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg, PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | Not listed | 35002335/2.8/0023 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Austell-co-codamol EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | Not listed | 37009737/2.8/0097 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Varipan co EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | 500 mg/8 mgTablet | 37026137/2.8/0261Approved 25 July 2025 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Nitrocod EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | B0777B/2.8/777 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Xpelpyn TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 8 MG PARACETAMOL A 500 MG | Not listed | B0843 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Cetaphos tablets TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 MG PARACETAMOL 500 MG | Tablets | B0854B/2.8/854 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Panado-co tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Tablets | B1141B/2.8/1141 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Restapyn tablets TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 MG PARACETAMOL 500 MG | Tablets | B1235B/2.8/1235 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Medicod tablets TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 10 MG PARACETAMOL A 500 MG | Tablets | B1289 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Paracetacod 10 ML CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 0,006 G PARACETAMOL A 0,24 G | Not listed | B1328 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Paracetacod TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 MG PARACETAMOL 500 MG | Not listed | B1329B/2.8/1329 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco napacod tablets TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 MG PARACETAMOL 500 MG | 10 mg, 500 mgTablets | B1401B/2.8/1401Approved 9 January 2023 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Zeropyn syrup 10 ML CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 2 MG PARACETAMOL A 120 MG | Syrup | B1402 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Kodapon EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | B1473B/2.8/1473 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| *Zypol co EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 450 mg | Not listed | B1523B/2.8/1523 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Prolief plus tablets TABLET CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 MG PARACETAMOL 300 MG | Tablets | B1619B/2.8/1619 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Zeropyn EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | F0155F/2.8/155 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Dolorol forte EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 MG PARACETAMOL 500 MG | Not listed | G0116G/2.8/116 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Supragesic syrup EACH 5 ML SYRUP CONTAINS :CODEINE PHOSPHATE 4,0 mg, PARACETAMOL 150,0 mg | Syrup | H0129H/2.9/129 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Spectrapain EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg | Not listed | N0080N/2.9/80 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Infapain EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 5,0 mg PARACETAMOL 120,0 mg | Not listed | N0100N/2.9/100 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Gsa-paracetamol-codeine EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | N0132N/2.9/132 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Dolorol forte syrup EACH 5 ml CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 4 mg PARACETAMOL 150 mg | Syrup | N0175N/2.8/0175 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Painamol plus tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | Tablets | P0311P/2.8/311 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Painrite SA EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg | Not listed | Q0241Q/2.9/241 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Famcod EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | Not listed | Q0279Q/2.8/279 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Empacod EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 20,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg | Not listed | S0137S/2.8/137 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Tensopyn paediatric syrup EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 4,0 mg PARACETAMOL 150,0 mg | Syrup | W0023W/2.8/23 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cogesic EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | X0109X/2.8/109 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Codorol tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Tablets | X0176X/2.8/176 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cod-pain EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Not listed | X0295X/2.8/295 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Merck-gesic tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Tablets | Y0151Y/2.8/151 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Paincodein tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS :CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg, PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Tablets | Y0306Y/2.8/306 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Novodol-co tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg PARACETAMOL 500 mg | Tablets | Z0025Z/2.8/25 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S6; the leaflet's S3 applies to this product.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Codeine phosphate, paracetamol
S6: Codeine
- single component codeine preparations;
- oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export; (S2, S3)
- liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export. (S2, S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10128 to 10136
S3: Codeine
- oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
- except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
- except single component codeine preparations. (S6)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3350 to 3372
S3: Paracetamol
- when intended for injection.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4093
S2: Codeine
- oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days, and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit; (S3)
- except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit; (S3)
- except single component codeine preparations. (S6)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1758 to 1778
S2: Paracetamol
- when contained in rectal suppositories, or
- when contained in modified release formulations. (S0, S1, S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2496 to 2500
S1: Paracetamol
- immediate release tablets or capsules each containing 500 milligrams or less of paracetamol, or in individually wrapped powders or in sachets containing 1 000 milligrams or less of paracetamol, subject to - (i) a maximum of 12,5 grams of paracetamol per primary pack, and (ii) in the case of tablets or capsules, presented in blister strip packaging or in containers with child-resistant closures; and (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
- in liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres or in paediatric drops containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 1,2 millilitres, subject to - (i) a maximum of 100 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres; (ii) a maximum of 20 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the paediatric drops; (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
- when contained in rectal suppositories. (S2)
- when contained in modified release formulations. (S2)
- when intended for injection. (S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 958 to 997
Pharmacological class: Analgesic combinations. (class 2.8)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Varipan co, Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S2 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.