Cloxacillin
Sold as Cloxin, Xixia cloxacillin, Cloxacillin unimed, Licax, Bakara, Kloject, Orbenin dc, Orbenin extra dc, Cloxacillin fresenius
(2S,5R,6R)-6-[[3-(2-Chlorophenyl)-5-methyl-1,2-oxazole-4-carbonyl]amino]-3,3-dimethyl-7-oxo-4-thia-1-azabicyclo[3.2.0]heptane-2-carboxylic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 6098.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 8
- Registrations
- 15
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bodene (Pty) Ltd Trading As IntramedCancelled | Cloxin | 1 g | 280138 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Xixia cloxacillin | 500 mg | 290543 | Not determined | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Cloxacillin unimed | 500 mg | 290544 | Not determined | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) Ltd2 of 6 cancelled | Licax, Bakara, Kloject | 250 mg, 500 mg | 440471, 440472, 440473, 440474, 440475, 440476 | Not determined | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Orbenin dc | Not stated | 83/368 | Not determined | None |
| Zoetis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Orbenin extra dc | Not stated | 91/6 | Not determined | None |
| Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Cloxacillin fresenius | 250 mg, 500 mg | M0227, M0228 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Cloxin | 250 mg, 500 mg | N0090, N0091 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cloxin injection 1 g EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 1000,0 mg | 1 gInjection | 28013828/20.1.2/0138 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Xixia cloxacillin injection 500 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 mgInjection | 29054329/20.1.2/0543 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cloxacillin capsules 500 MG unimed EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS :CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 500 mg | 500 mgCapsules | 29054429/20.1.2/0544 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Licax 250 MG injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mgInjection | 44047144/20.1.2/0471 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Licax 500 MG injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 mgInjection | 44047244/20.1.2/0472 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Bakara 250 injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 250,0 mg | 250Injection | 44047344/20.1.2/0473 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Bakara 500 injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 500,0 mg | 500Injection | 44047444/20.1.2/0474 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Kloject 250 MG injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mgInjection | 44047544/20.1.2/0475 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Kloject 500 MG injection EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 mgInjection | 44047644/20.1.2/0476 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Orbenin dc EACH 3 g SYRINGE CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN BENZATHINE A EQUIVALENT TO CLOXACILLIN 500 mg | Not listed | 83/368 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Orbenin extra dc EACH SYRINGE CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN BENZATHINE EQUIVALENT TO 600 mg CLOXACILLIN | Not listed | 91/691/24.1/6 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cloxacillin fresenius 250 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg CLOXACILLIN | 250 mg | M0227M/20.1.2/227 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cloxacillin fresenius 500 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg CLOXACILLIN | 500 mg | M0228M/20.1.2/228 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cloxin 250 MG capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg CLOXACILLIN | 250 mgCapsules | N0090N/20.1.2/90 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cloxin 500 MG capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CLOXACILLIN SODIUM EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg CLOXACILLIN | 500 mgCapsules | N0091N/20.1.2/91 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Ampicillin
- except when listed elsewhere in the Schedules and except intra-mammary preparations thereof, containing tracer dye(s) and intended for the treatment of mastitis in cattle and registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947. (Act 36 of 1947)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5240 to 5242
S4: Cloxacillin
- except when listed elsewhere in the Schedules and except intra-mammary preparations thereof, containing tracer dye(s) and intended for the treatment of mastitis in cattle and registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5862 to 5864
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.