Clopidogrel
Sold as Clopiwin, Mistro, Clopivas, Cipla-clopidogrel, Clopidogrel PD, Clopidogrel unicorn, Closolve, Beclop, Acticlop, Vaspid, Plahip, Ogravia, Clopidogrel biotech, Mylan clopidogrel, Deplatt, Zyklot, Clopidogrel zydus, Aviolix, Thrombotison, Clopidogrel austell, Plaviclot, Adco-aravix, Plagrol
Methyl (2S)-2-(2-chlorophenyl)-2-(6,7-dihydro-4H-thieno[3,2-c]pyridin-5-yl)acetate
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 60606.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 19
- Registrations
- 24
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Clopiwin | 75 mg, 300 mg | 410051, 440042 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Mistro, Ogravia | 75 mg | 410146, 450288 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Clopivas, Cipla-clopidogrel | Not stated | 410766, 410767 | Not determined | None |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | Clopidogrel PD | 75 mg | 420128 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Clopidogrel unicorn | 75 | 420250 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Closolve | Not stated | 421085 | Not determined | None |
| LHC Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Beclop | Not stated | 421086 | Not determined | None |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Acticlop | 75 | 430725 | Not determined | None |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Vaspid | Not stated | 430763 | Not determined | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Plahip | 75 | 440284 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Clopidogrel biotech | 75 mg | 450327 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Mylan clopidogrel | 75 mg | 450594 | Not determined | None |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Deplatt | 75 mg | 451031 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Zydus Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Zyklot, Clopidogrel zydus | 75 | 460972, 460973.972 | Not determined | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Aviolix | 75 | 470009 | Not determined | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) LtdCancelled | Thrombotison | Not stated | 480435 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Clopidogrel austell | 75 mg | 490442 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Plaviclot | Not stated | 580146 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Adco-aravix, Plagrol | Not stated | A390444, A400673 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clopiwin 75 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL HYDROGEN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mg | 41005141/8.2/0051 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mistro EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL BISULFATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 41014641/8.2/0146 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clopivas EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 41076641/8.2/0766 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cipla-clopidogrel EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 41076741/8.2/0767 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Clopidogrel 75 MG PD EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL HYDROGEN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mgFilm coated tablet. | 42012842/8.2/0128Approved 24 October 2025 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Clopidogrel unicorn 75 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL HYDROGEN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 | 42025042/8.2/0250 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Closolve EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 42108542/8.2/1085 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Beclop EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 42108642/8.2/1086 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Acticlop 75 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 | 43072543/8.2/0725 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Vaspid EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 43076343/8.2/0763 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clopiwin 300 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 300,0 mg | 300 mg | 44004244/8.2/0042 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Plahip 75 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 | 44028444/8.2/0284 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Ogravia 75 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL HYDROGEN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mg | 45028845/8.2/0288 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clopidogrel 75 biotech EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mgFilm coated tablet | 45032745/8.2/0327Approved 6 January 2026 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Mylan clopidogrel 75 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mg | 45059445/8.2/0594 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Deplatt EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL HYDROGEN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mgFilm-coated tablets | 45103145/8.2/1031 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Zyklot 75 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 | 46097246/8.2/0972 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clopidogrel zydus 75 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 | 460973.97246/8.2/0973.972 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Aviolix 75 Each Tablet contains: Clopidogrel 75,0 mg | 75 | 47000947/8.2/0009 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Thrombotison EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 48043548/8.2/0435 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Clopidogrel 75 MG austell EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS :CLOPIDOGREL BISULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | 75 mgFilm-coated tablets. | 49044249/8.2/0442Approved 10 March 2025 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Plaviclot EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL BISULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | 58014658/8.2/0146 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-aravix EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | A390444A39/8.2/0444 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Plagrol EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOPIDOGREL 75,0 mg | Not listed | A400673A40/8.2/0673 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Clopidogrel hydrogen sulphate equivalent to clopidogrel
S3: Clopidogrel
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3342
S2: Aspirin
- the treatment of children or adolescents; and
- the prophylaxis of cardiovascular disease in adults (S0)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1616 to 1620
Pharmacological class: Anticoagulants. (class 8.2)
Matched through the component Aspirin.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Clopidogrel 75 MG PD, Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S3 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.