Chloramphenicol, hydrocortisone
Sold as Chloromycetin hydrocortisone ophthalmic, Cortiphenol h
Every registration of this product has been cancelled.
Combination product
This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 2
- Registrations
- 2
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chamberlain's (Pty) Ltd *Cancelled | Chloromycetin hydrocortisone ophthalmic | Not stated | H1219 | Not determined | None |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelled | Cortiphenol h | Not stated | H1264 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chloromycetin hydrocortisone ophthalmic EACH VIAL CONTAINS CHLORAMPHENICOL A 12,5 mg HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE A 25,0 mg | Not listed | H1219 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cortiphenol h EACH 100 g CONTAINS CHLORAMPHENICOL A 1,0 g HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE A 1,0 g | Not listed | H1264 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Chloramphenicol
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 5787
S4: Hydrocortisone
- maximum concentration of 1 percent in preparations intended for application to the skin, and
- in a maximum concentration of 1 percent used in combination with miconazole for topical application in the treatment of athlete’s foot. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 6648 to 6652
S2: Hydrocortisone
- maximum concentration of 1 percent in preparations intended for application to the skin, and
- in a maximum concentration of 1 percent used in combination with miconazole for topical application in the treatment of athlete’s foot. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2110 to 2114
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.