Carbamazepine
Sold as Zecard, Neurotop retard, Bio-carbamazepine, Partid, Sandoz carbamazepine cr, Rocarb cr, Carbamazepine unimed, Gulf carbamazepine, Lotregol, Carbamazepine austell, Pinomaz cr, Zarbic, Carbamazepine AURO, Zeptrali cr, Tegretol, Tegretol s, Degranol, Propan carbamazepine, Temporol, Tegretol cr
Benzo[b][1]benzazepine-11-carboxamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 2554.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 15
- Registrations
- 29
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | Zecard | 200 | 290195 | Not determined | None |
| Byk Madaus (Pty) LtdCancelled | Neurotop retard | 300, 600 | 320084, 320085 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Bio-carbamazepine | 200 mg | 320144 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Partid | 200 | 370482 | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Sandoz carbamazepine cr, Rocarb cr | 200, 400 | 380049, 380062, 380135, 380136 | Not determined | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Carbamazepine unimed | 200 | 420840 | Not determined | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Gulf carbamazepine, Lotregol | 200 | 430840, 440924 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Austell Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Carbamazepine austell | 200 mg | 550480 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | Pinomaz cr | 100 mg, 200 mg, 400 mg | 590338, 590339, 590340 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Aurogen SA (Pty) Ltd | Zarbic, Carbamazepine AURO | 200 mg, 400 mg | 590418, 590419, 590420.418, 590421.419 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Zeptrali cr | 200, 400 | 590811, 590812 | Not determined | None |
| Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Tegretol, Tegretol s, Tegretol cr | 200, 400 | B1530, D0204, V0321, V0322 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited | Degranol | 200 mg | G0220 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Propan carbamazepine | Not stated | L0256 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmagen (Pty) LtdCancelled | Temporol | Not stated | S0320 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zecard 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 29019529/2.5/0195 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Neurotop retard 300 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 300,0 mg | 300 | 32008432/2.5/0084 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Neurotop retard 600 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 600,0 mg | 600 | 32008532/2.5/0085 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Bio-carbamazepine 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgTablets. | 32014432/2.5/0144Approved 7 November 2022 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Partid-200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 37048237/2.5/0482 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz carbamazepine cr 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 38004938/2.5/0049 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz carbamazepine cr 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 400,0 mg | 400 | 38006238/2.5/0062 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Rocarb 200 cr EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 38013538/2.5/0135 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Rocarb 400 cr EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 400,0 mg | 400 | 38013638/2.5/0136 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Carbamazepine 200 unimed EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 42084042/2.5/0840 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gulf carbamazepine 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 43084043/2.5/0840 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Lotregol 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 44092444/2.5/0924 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Carbamazepine 200 austell CARBAMAZEPINE | 200 mgTablet | 55048055/2.5/0480Approved 24 January 2023 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pinomaz 100 MG cr EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 100,0 mg | 100 mgControlled release film coated tablet | 59033859/2.5/0338Approved 28 July 2026 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pinomaz 200 MG cr EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgControlled release film coated tablet | 59033959/2.5/0339Approved 28 July 2026 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pinomaz 400 MG cr EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 400,0 mg | 400 mgControlled release film coated tablet | 59034059/2.5/0340Approved 28 July 2026 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Zarbic 200 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgFilm-coated tablets | 59041859/2.5/0418Approved 14 July 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Zarbic 400 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 400,0 mg | 400 mgFilm-coated tablets | 59041959/2.5/0419Approved 14 July 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Carbamazepine 200 MG AURO EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 mgFilm-coated tablets | 590420.41859/2.5/0420.418Approved 14 July 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Carbamazepine 400 MG AURO EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 400,0 mg | 400 mgFilm-coated tablets | 590421.41959/2.5/0421.419Approved 14 July 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Zeptrali cr 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 59081159/2.5/0811 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zeptrali cr 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CARBAMAZEPINE 400,0 mg | 400 | 59081259/2.5/0812 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Tegretol 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE A 200 mg | 200Tablets, divitabs, suspension | B1530Approved 7 October 2024 | Old Medicine | S3 | PIPIL |
| Tegretol s EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 100 mg | Not listed | D0204D/2.5/204 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Degranol EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200 MG | 200 mg.Tablet | G0220G/2.5/220Approved 19 April 2020 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Propan carbamazepine EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200,0 mg | Not listed | L0256L/2.5/0256 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Temporol EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200 MG | Not listed | S0320S/2.5/0320 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Tegretol cr 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 200 mg | 200 | V0321V/2.5/321 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Tegretol cr 400 EACH TABLET CONTAINS CARBAMAZEPINE 400 mg | 400 | V0322V/2.5/322 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S3; the leaflet's S4 applies to this product.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Carbamazepine
S3: Carbamazepine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3290
Pharmacological class: Anticonvulsants, including anti-epileptics. (class 2.5)
4 of 11 approved products with this ingredient carry S4 on their leaflet.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Bio-carbamazepine 200, Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S3 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.