Bortezomib
Sold as Velcade, Bortezomib hetero, Valtib, Miblex, Bortrac, Velbor, Velbor iv, Botigen, Bertred, Bortezomib adco, Protecade, Betanuz, Devacad, Valoma, Zymib, Bortezomib zydus, Spalbort, Bortezomib eurolab, Bortezomib equity, Unizerib, Borturas, Onbort, Bortiv
No structure available
This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 16
- Registrations
- 33
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Janssen Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Velcade | 1 mg | 430427, A400005 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Bortezomib hetero, Onbort, Bortiv | 1 mg/0,4 ml, 2,5 mg/1,0 ml, 3,5 mg, 3,5 mg/1,4 ml | 480121, 570409, 570410, 570411, 570412.0409, 570413.0410, 570414.0411 | S4 | None |
| Accord Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Valtib | 1,0 mg | 490891, 521027 | S4 | None |
| Eurolab (Pty) Ltd | Miblex, Bortezomib eurolab | 3.5 mg | 500093, 56/26/0602 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Bortrac | 3,5 mg | 500474 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Velbor | Not stated | 500568 | S4 | None |
| Mc Pharma (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ruby Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Velbor iv, Spalbort | 3,5 mg | 500960, 550759 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Botigen | 3,5 mg | 510163 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories (Pty) Ltd. | Bertred | 1, 3.5 mg | 510714, 550005 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Adcock ingram critical care | Bortezomib adco, Protecade | 1 mg, 3,5 mg | 520727, 530177, 530178 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Aurogen SA (Pty) Ltd | Betanuz, Devacad | 3,5 mg | 540081, 540082.081 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Juno Pharma SA (Pty) Ltd | Valoma | 1, 2,5, 3,5 | 540344, 540345, 540346 | S4 | None |
| Zydus Healthcare (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Zydus Healthcare SA (Pty) Ltd | Zymib, Bortezomib zydus | 3,5 mg | 540834, 540835.834 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Equity Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Equity Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Bortezomib equity | 3.5 mg | 560040 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ando Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Unizerib | Not stated | 560643 | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | Borturas | 3,5 mg | 560790 | S4 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velcade 1 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1 mg | 43042743/26/0427 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bortezomib hetero 3,5 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mg | 48012148/26/0121 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Valtib EACH VIAL CONTAINS :BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | Not listed | 49089149/26/0891 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Miblex EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | Not listed | 50009350/26/0093 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bortrac 3,5 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mg | 50047450/26/0474 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Velbor Each vial contains: Bortezomib 3,5 mg | Not listed | 50056850/26/0568 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Velbor iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | Not listed | 50096050/26/0960 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Botigen 3,5 Each vial contains: Bortezomib 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 51016351/26/0163Approved 27 January 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bertred 3,5 EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3.5 mg.Lyophilised powder for solution for injection. | 51071451/26/0714Approved 24 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bortezomib adco Each vial contains: Bortezomib 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 52072752/26/0727Approved 30 August 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Valtib 1,0 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1,0 mg | 52102752/26/1027 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Protecade 1 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1 mg | 53017753/26/0177 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Protecade 3,5 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mg | 53017853/26/0178 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Betanuz EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 54008154/26/0081Approved 20 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Devacad EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 540082.08154/26/0082.081Approved 20 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Valoma 1 EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1 | 54034454/26/0344 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Valoma 2,5 EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 2,5 mg | 2,5 | 54034554/26/0345 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Valoma 3,5 EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 | 54034654/26/0346 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Zymib EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 54083454/26/0834Approved 10 September 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bortezomib zydus EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | Not listed | 540835.83454/26/0835.834 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bertred 1 EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1 | 55000555/26/0005 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Spalbort 3,5 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgLyophilised powder for solution for injection | 55075955/26/0759Approved 8 August 2023 | Registrered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bortezomib 3,5 MG eurolab EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3.5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 56/26/0602Approved 8 October 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Bortezomib equity EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3.5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 56004056/26/0040Approved 25 April 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Unizerib EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB TRIMER EQUIVALENT TO BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | Not listed | 56064356/26/0643 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Borturas 3,5 MG EACH VIAL CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mgPowder for solution for injection | 56079056/26/0790Approved 20 August 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Onbort 1 mg/0,4 ML EACH 0,4 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1 mg/0,4 ml | 57040957/26/0409 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Onbort 2,5 mg/1,0 ML EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 2,5 mg | 2,5 mg/1,0 ml | 57041057/26/0410 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Onbort 3,5 mg/1,4 ML EACH 1,4 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mg/1,4 ml | 57041157/26/0411 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bortiv 1 mg/0,4 ML EACH 0,4 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 1,0 mg | 1 mg/0,4 ml | 570412.040957/26/0412.409 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bortiv 2,5 mg/1,0 ML EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 2,5 mg | 2,5 mg/1,0 ml | 570413.041057/26/0413.410 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bortiv 3,5 mg/1,4 ML EACH 1,4 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | 3,5 mg/1,4 ml | 570414.041157/26/0414.411 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Velcade EACH VIAL CONTAINS BORTEZOMIB 3,5 mg | Not listed | A400005A40/26/0005 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Bortezomib
S4: Bortezomib
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 5563
Pharmacological class: Cytostatic agents (class 26)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Botigen 3,5, Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.