Azathioprine
Sold as Zaprine, Pharm-azathioprine, Azamun, Azathioprine pch, Imuran, Azapress, Tagogrin
6-(3-Methyl-5-nitroimidazol-4-yl)sulfanyl-7H-purine
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 2265.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 5
- Registrations
- 7
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Zaprine | 50 | 340444 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead1 of 3 cancelled | Pharm-azathioprine, Imuran, Azapress | Not stated | 350394, H2746, L0413 | S4 | None |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Azamun | 50 mg | 360006 | S4 | None |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd. | Azathioprine pch | 50 mg | 370692 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Tagogrin | Not stated | T0035 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zaprine 50 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AZATHIOPRINE 50,0 mg | 50 | 34044434/26/0444 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Pharm-azathioprine EACH TABLET CONTAINS AZATHIOPRINE 50,0 mg | Not listed | 35039435/26/0394 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Azamun 50 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS :AZATHIOPRINE 50,0 mg | 50 mg | 36000636/26/0006 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Azathioprine 50 pch EACH TABLET CONTAINS AZATHIOPRINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgTablets | 37069237/26/0692Approved 10 July 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Imuran EACH VIAL CONTAINS AZATHIOPRINE A 50,0 mg | Not listed | H2746 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Azapress EACH TABLET CONTAINS AZATHIOPRINE 50 mg | Not listed | L0413L/26/413 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tagogrin EACH TABLET CONTIANS AZATHIOPRINE 50 mg | Not listed | T0035T/26/35 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Azathioprine
S4: Azathioprine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 5407
Pharmacological class: Cytostatic agents (class 26)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Azathioprine 50 pch, Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.