Skip to content
zameds

Atovaquone, proguanil

Sold as Malanil, Falcirone, Numal, Mozitec, Malateq, Hetovanil, Atapro, Atapro paediatric, Atovaquone/proguanil glenmark, Malanil paediatric

S2Read from the PI-PIL document and verified

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
7
Registrations
11
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Litha pharmaMalanil, Malanil paediatric100mg, 250mg370075, A400165S2PIPIL
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelledFalcirone, NumalNot stated460025, 460027Not determinedNone
Activo Health (Pty) LtdMozitecNot stated471014Not determinedNone
Forrester Pharma (Pty) LtdMalateqNot stated471015Not determinedNone
Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) LtdHetovanil62,5/25 mg, 250/100 mg480526, 480527Not determinedNone
Specpharm (Pty) LtdCancelledAtapro, Atapro paediatric62,5/25 mg, 250/100 mg480674, 480675Not determinedNone
Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) LtdAtovaquone/proguanil glenmark250/100 mg530615Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Malanil

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

250mg. 100mgTablet37007537/20.2.6/0075Approved 5 March 2009RegisteredS2PIPIL
Falcirone

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

Not listed46002546/20.2.6/0025CancelledNot determinedNone
Numal

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

Not listed46002746/20.2.6/0027CancelledNot determinedNone
Mozitec

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

Not listed47101447/20.2.6/1014RegisteredNot determinedNone
Malateq

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

Not listed47101547/20.2.6/1015RegisteredNot determinedNone
Hetovanil 62,5/25 MG

Each tablet contains ATOVAQUONE 62,5 mg and PROGUANIL HCL 25,0 mg

62,5/25 mg48052648/20.2.6/0526RegisteredNot determinedNone
Hetovanil 250/100 MG

Each tablet contains ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg and PROGUANIL HCL 100,0 mg

250/100 mg48052748/20.2.6/0527RegisteredNot determinedNone
Atapro 250/100 MG tablet

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

250/100 mgTablet48067448/20.2.6/0674CancelledNot determinedNone
Atapro 62,5/25 MG paediatric tablet

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 62,5 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 25,0 mg

62,5/25 mgTablet48067548/20.2.6/0675CancelledNot determinedNone
Atovaquone/proguanil 250/100 MG glenmark

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 250,0 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg

250/100 mg53061553/20.2.6/0615RegisteredNot determinedNone
Malanil paediatric

EACH TABLET CONTAINS ATOVAQUONE 62,5 mg PROGUANIL HYDROCHLORIDE 25,0 mg

Not listedA400165A40/20.2.6/0165RegisteredNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

Where S2 sits on the scale

A pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription.

Schedule 2 medicines sit behind the pharmacy counter. A pharmacist can decide to sell one of these directly, using their own professional judgement, without a doctor's prescription. It can also be dispensed against a prescription like the higher tiers, in which case the usual repeat limits apply. A child under 12 may only be sold a Schedule 2 substance on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises. Even though it cannot be advertised to the public in the ordinary sense, its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S2, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S4; the leaflet's S2 applies to this product.

Who may supply: Only a pharmacist, pharmacist intern or supervised pharmacist's assistant may sell it without a prescription. It may otherwise be dispensed by a pharmacist against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Atovaquone, proguanil hydrochloride

  • S4: Atovaquone

    • when co-formulated with proguanil and intended and labelled for the chemoprophylaxis of malaria in those weighing 11 kilograms or more. (S2)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5380 to 5383

  • S4: Proguanil

    • when co-formulated with atovaquone and intended and labelled for the chemoprophylaxis of malaria in those weighing 11 kilograms or more. (S2)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7661 to 7664

  • S2: Atovaquone

    • when co-formulated with proguanil and intended and labelled for the chemoprophylaxis of malaria in those weighing 11 kilograms or more. (S4)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1622 to 1625

  • S2: Proguanil

    • when co-formulated with atovaquone and intended and labelled for the chemoprophylaxis of malaria in those weighing 11 kilograms or more. (S4)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2579 to 2582

Pharmacological class: Medicines against protozoa. (class 20.2.6)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Malanil, Acino Pharma (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S2 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles