Amoxycillin
Sold as Dyna-amoxycillin, Amoxyfizz, Ipcamox, Dyna-amoxycillin /kapsules, Amoxycillin oethmaan, Zoxil, Zoxil s, Zoxil sf, Innosol, Promoxil, Promoxil s, Promoxil sf, Xeracil, Xeracil s, Xeracil sf, Moxymax, Moxymax s, Moxymax sf, Gsa-amoxycillin, Amocas, Amoxicillin unimed, Zaloxy, Maxcil a, Maxcil af, Promoxil dt, Allmox s, Allmox sf, Amoxicillin austell, Amoxicap, Amro, Amyn s, Yomax, Xycilan, Auro-amoxicillin, Clamoxyl, Clamoxyl rtu, Potencil, Vetrimoxin, Mymox, Indo amoxycillin, Amyn, Amyn sf, Moxypen, Amx, Norimox, Maxcil, Adco-amoxycillin, Ultramox, Betamox, Betamox s, Betamox sf, Merck-amoxycillin, Maxcil s, Maxcil sf, Allmox, Penmox p f, Spectramox c, Spectramox s, Spectramox sf, Baquil
(2S,5R,6R)-6-[[(2R)-2-Amino-2-(4-hydroxyphenyl)acetyl]amino]-3,3-dimethyl-7-oxo-4-thia-1-azabicyclo[3.2.0]heptane-2-carboxylic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 33613.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 33
- Registrations
- 95
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aquila Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Dyna-amoxycillin | 125 mg | 270333 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited3 of 7 cancelled | Dyna-amoxycillin, Dyna-amoxycillin /kapsules, Gsa-amoxycillin, Adco-amoxycillin | 250 mg, capsules/kapsules, 125 mg/5 ml, 250 mg/5 ml, 500 mg | 270334, 270501, 290018, X0196, X0197, X0198, X0199 | Not determined | None |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Amoxyfizz, Spectramox c | 125, 250 | 270382, 270383, Z0327 | Not determined | None |
| National druggistCancelled | Ipcamox | Not stated | 270415 | Not determined | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Amoxycillin oethmaan, Ultramox, Spectramox s, Spectramox sf | 125, 250, 500 mg | 270577, Y0101, Z0328, Z0329 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Zoxil, Zoxil s, Zoxil sf | 250, 500 | 280124, 280125, 280126, 280127 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Innosol, Allmox s, Allmox sf, Allmox | 125 mg/5 ml, 250 mg/5 ml, 250, 500 | 280226, 360117, 360118, Y0161, Y0162 | Not determined | None |
| Medpro Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd1 of 4 cancelled | Promoxil, Promoxil s, Promoxil sf | 250, 500 | 280239, 280240, 280269, 280270 | Not determined | None |
| Xeragen Laboratories (Pty) LtdCancelled | Xeracil, Xeracil s, Xeracil sf | 250, 500 | 280392, 280393, 280394, 280395 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Moxymax, Moxymax s, Moxymax sf, Amoxicillin austell | 250 mg, 500 mg | 280412, 280413, 280414, 280415, 370003, 370004 | Not determined | None |
| Be-tabs Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Amocas | 250 mg | 290731, 290734 | Not determined | None |
| Portfolio Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Amoxicillin unimed | 250, 500 | 300196, 300197 | Not determined | None |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Zaloxy | 125 mg/5 ml, 250, 250 mg/5 ml | 310571, 360115, 360116 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmadyne Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Zaloxy | 500 | 310572 | Not determined | None |
| Epiglo Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Maxcil a, Maxcil af, Maxcil s, Maxcil sf | 250, 500 | 310573, 310574, Y0142, Y0143 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Promoxil dt | 250 | 320253 | Not determined | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Amoxicillin unimed, Indo amoxycillin | 125 mg/5 ml, 250 mg/5 ml, 250, 500 | 350212, 350213, A400329, A400330 | Not determined | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Amoxicap | 250 | 370446 | Not determined | None |
| Aurogen South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Amro, Xycilan, Auro-amoxicillin | 125 mg/5 ml, 250 mg, 250 mg/5 ml, 500 mg | 410055, 410056, 420335, 420336, 420337, 420338 | Not determined | None |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Amyn s, Amyn, Amyn sf | 125, 250, 500 | 410261, A400331, A400332, A400563 | Not determined | None |
| Actor Pharma (Pty) Ltd - Applicant | Yomax | 250 mg, 500 mg | 410687, 410688 | Not determined | None |
| Zoetis South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Clamoxyl, Clamoxyl rtu | 40, 200 | 83/383, 83/384, 83/385 | Not determined | None |
| Virbac Rsa (Pty) Ltd | Potencil | Not stated | 83/643 | Not determined | None |
| Ceva Animal Health (Pty) Ltd | Vetrimoxin | 50 | A05/07 | Not determined | None |
| Unichem SA (Pty) Ltd | Mymox | 250, 500 | A380462, A380463 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Moxypen | 125 mg/5 ml, 250, 250 mg/5 ml, 500 | M0293, M0294, M0540, M0541 | Not determined | None |
| Brovar S & P (Pty) LtdCancelled | Amx | 250 mg, 500 | V0216, V0217, X0357 | Not determined | None |
| Hoechst Marion Roussel LtdCancelled | Norimox | 125, 250, 500 | W0072, W0264, W0265, W0266 | Not determined | None |
| Triomed (Pty) LtdCancelled | Maxcil | 125 | W0281 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Betamox, Betamox s, Betamox sf | 250, 500 | Y0127, Y0128, Y0129, Y0130 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) LtdCancelled | Merck-amoxycillin | 250 | Y0141 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Penmox p f | Not stated | Z0217 | Not determined | None |
| Vesta Medicines (Pty) LtdCancelled | Baquil | 500 | Z381 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dyna-amoxycillin 125 MG EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 125 mg | 27033327/20.1.2/0333 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Dyna-amoxycillin 250 MG EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 mg | 27033427/20.1.2/0334 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Amoxyfizz 125 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125 mg | 125 | 27038227/20.1.2/0382 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxyfizz 250 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | 250 | 27038327/20.1.2/0383 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Ipcamox EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | 27041527/20.1.2/0415 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Dyna-amoxycillin capsules/kapsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | Capsules/kapsules | 27050127/20.1.2/0501 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Amoxycillin 250 oethmaan EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | 27057727/20.1.2/0577 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zoxil 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250Powder for preparing a fruit-flavoured suspension. | 28012428/20.1.2/0124Approved 20 February 2024 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Zoxil 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500Powder for preparing a fruit-flavoured suspension. | 28012528/20.1.2/0125Approved 20 February 2024 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Zoxil s EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | 28012628/20.1.2/0126 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zoxil sf* EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | 28012728/20.1.2/0127 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Innosol 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500 | 28022628/20.1.2/0226 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Promoxil 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 250,0 mg | 250 | 28023928/20.1.2/0239 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Promoxil 500* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250,0 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500 | 28024028/20.1.2/0240 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Promoxil s EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | 28026928/20.1.2/0269 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Promoxil sf EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | Not listed | 28027028/20.1.2/0270 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Xeracil 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 301,3 MG EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 MG | 250 | 28039228/20.1.2/0392 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Xeracil 500* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500 | 28039328/20.1.2/0393 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Xeracil s EACH 5 ML SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 157,82 MG EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125 MG | Not listed | 28039428/20.1.2/0394 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Xeracil sf EACH 5 ML SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 315,64 MG EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 MG | Not listed | 28039528/20.1.2/0395 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Moxymax 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | 28041228/20.1.2/0412 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Moxymax 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500 | 28041328/20.1.2/0413 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Moxymax s EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | 28041428/20.1.2/0414 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Moxymax sf EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | 28041528/20.1.2/0415 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gsa-amoxycillin 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500 mg | 500 | 29001829/20.1.2/0018 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Amocas 250 capsules CAPSULE AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 301,3 MG | 250Capsules | 29073129/20.1.2/0731 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amocas 250 MG suspension 5 ML AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 315,64 MG | 250 mgSuspension | 29073429/20.1.2/0734 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicillin 250 unimed EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | 30019630/20.1.2/0196 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicillin 500 unimed EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500 | 30019730/20.1.2/0197 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zaloxy 250 capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | 250Capsules | 31057131/20.1.2/0571 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zaloxy 500 capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500Capsules | 31057231/20.1.2/0572 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Maxcil a 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | 31057331/20.1.2/0573 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Maxcil af 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 | 31057431/20.1.2/0574 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Promoxil-250 dt EACH DISPERSIBLE TABLET CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | 32025332/20.1.2/0253 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicillin 125 mg/5 ML suspension unimed EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 mg/5 mlSuspension | 35021235/20.1.2/0212 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicillin 250 mg/5 ML suspension unimed EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg/5 mlSuspension | 35021335/20.1.2/0213 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zaloxy suspension 125 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 mg/5 mlSuspension | 36011536/20.1.2/0115 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zaloxy suspension 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg/5 mlSuspension | 36011636/20.1.2/0116 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Allmox s 125 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125 ,0 mg | 125 mg/5 ml | 36011736/20.1.2/0117 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Allmox sf 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg/5 ml | 36011836/20.1.2/0118 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicillin 250 MG austell EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg | 37000337/20.1.2/0003 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicillin 500 MG austell EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS :AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 mg | 37000437/20.1.2/0004 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amoxicap 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | 37044637/20.1.2/0446 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amro 250 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg | 41005541/20.1.2/0055 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amro 500 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 mg | 41005641/20.1.2/0056 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amyn s 125 EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 | 41026141/20.1.2/0261 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Yomax 250 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg | 41068741/20.1.2/0687 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Yomax 500 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 mg | 41068841/20.1.2/0688 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Xycilan suspension 125 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 mg/5 mlSuspension | 42033542/20.1.2/0335 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Xycilan suspension 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg/5 mlSuspension | 42033642/20.1.2/0336 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Auro-amoxicillin suspension 125 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 mg/5 mlSuspension | 42033742/20.1.2/0337 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Auro-amoxicillin suspension 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mg/5 mlSuspension | 42033842/20.1.2/0338 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clamoxyl 40 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE A EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 40,0 mg | 40 | 83/383 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Clamoxyl 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE A EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 200,0 mg | 200 | 83/384 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Clamoxyl rtu EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE A EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 150,0 mg | Not listed | 83/385 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Potencil EACH 100,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 10,0 g COLISTIN SULPHATE 25,0 million iu | Not listed | 83/64383/21.1/643 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Vetrimoxin 50 EACH 100,0 g POWDER CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 50,0 g | 50 | A05/07A05/21.1/07 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mymox 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250Capsules, hard. | A380462A38/20.1.2/0462Approved 28 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Mymox 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500Capsules, hard. | A380463A38/20.1.2/0463Approved 28 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Indo amoxycillin 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | A400329A40/20.1.2/0329 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Indo amoxycillin 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 | A400330A40/20.1.2/0330 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amyn 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | A400331A40/20.1.2/0331 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amyn 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 | A400332A40/20.1.2/0332 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amyn sf 250 EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | A400563A40/20.1.2/0563 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Moxypen - 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | - 250 | M0293M/20.1.2/293 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Moxypen - 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500,0 mg | - 500 | M0294M/20.1.2/294 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Moxypen 125 mg/5 ML EACH 5 ml RECONSTITUTED SYRUP CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 125 mg/5 ml | M0540M/20.1.2/540 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Moxypen 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5 ML RECONSTITUTED SYRUP CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 MG AMOXYCILLIN | 250 mg/5 ml | M0541M/20.2.1/541 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Amx 250* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | 250 | V0216V/20.1.2/216 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Amx 500* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500 mg | 500 | V0217V/20.1.2/217 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Norimox 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | W0072W/20.1.2/72 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Norimox 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 500 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 500 | W0264W/20.1.2/264 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Norimox 125 syrup EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINAS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 125Syrup | W0265W/20.1.2/265 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Norimox 250 syrup EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINAS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250Syrup | W0266W/20.1.2/266 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Maxcil 125 syrup* EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 125Syrup | W0281W/20.1.2/281 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco-amoxycillin 250 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 250 mg | 250 mg | X0196X/10.1.2/196 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-amoxycillin 500 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500 mg | 500 mg | X0197X/20.1.2/197 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-amoxycillin 125 mg/5 ML EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 125 mg/5 ml | X0198X/20.1.2/198 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-amoxycillin 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 mg/5 ml | X0199X/20.1.2/199 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Amx 250 MG suspension* EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 mgSuspension | X0357X/20.1.2/357 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ultramox 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500 mg | 500 mgCapsules | Y0101Y/20.1.2/101Approved 12 November 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Betamox 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | Y0127Y/20.1.2/127 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Betamox 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE 602,6 mg | 500 | Y0128Y/20.1.2/128 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Betamox s EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125 mg | Not listed | Y0129Y/20.1.2/129 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Betamox sf* EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | Not listed | Y0130Y/20.1.2/130 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Merck-amoxycillin 250 EACH CAPUSLE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | 250 | Y0141Y/20.1.2/141 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Maxcil s EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 125 mg | Not listed | Y0142Y/20.1.2/142 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Maxcil sf EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | Not listed | Y0143Y/20.1.2/143 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Allmox 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 250 mg | 250 | Y0161Y/20.1.2/161 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Allmox 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXYCILLIN 500 mg | 500 | Y0162Y/20.1.2/162 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Penmox p f EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | Not listed | Z0217Z/20.1.2/217 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Spectramox c 250 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250,0 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | Z0327Z/20.1.2/327 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Spectramox s 125 EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 125 | Z0328Z/20.1.2/328 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Spectramox sf 250 EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg AMOXYCILLIN | 250 | Z0329Z/20.1.2/329 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Baquil 500 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXYCILLIN TRIHYDRATE A EQUIVALNET TO AMOXYCILLIN 500 mg | 500 | Z381 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.