Amoxicillin
Sold as Amocas, * cidabax sf, Clavumed, Orasil, Co-amoxiclav unimed, Amoxicillin portfolio, Clamoxyl PD
(2S,5R,6R)-6-[[(2R)-2-Amino-2-(4-hydroxyphenyl)acetyl]amino]-3,3-dimethyl-7-oxo-4-thia-1-azabicyclo[3.2.0]heptane-2-carboxylic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 33613.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 6
- Registrations
- 12
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Be-tabs Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Amocas | 125 mg, 500 | 290732, 290733 | S4 | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | * cidabax sf | Not stated | 380264 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Clavumed | 1 g | 500228 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Orasil, Co-amoxiclav unimed | 250, 375, 500, 625, 1000 | 500535, 500536, 500975, 500976, 500977 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Portfolio Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Amoxicillin portfolio | 250, 500 | 530153, 530154 | S4 | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Clamoxyl PD | Not stated | 83/382 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amocas 500 capsules CAPSULE AMOXICILLIN TRIHYDRATE 602,6 MG | 500Capsules | 29073229/20.1.2/0732 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amocas 125 MG suspension 5 ML AMOXICILLIN TRIHYDRATE 157,82 MG | 125 mgSuspension | 29073329/20.1.2/0733 | Registered | S4 | None |
| * cidabax sf EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS: AMOXICILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXICILLIN 250,0 mg, POTASSIUM CLAVULANATE EQUIVALENT TO | Not listed | 38026438/20.1.2/0264 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clavumed 1 g Each Tablet contains: Amoxicillin Trihydrate Equivalent to Amoxicillin 875,0 mg Potassium clavulanate equivalent to clavulanic acid125,0mg | 1 gFilm coated tablets | 50022850/20.1.2/0228Approved 11 May 2021 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Orasil 250 | 250Capsules | 50053550/20.1.2/0535Approved 30 May 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Orasil 500 | 500Capsules | 50053650/20.1.2/0536Approved 30 May 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Co-amoxiclav 375 unimed | 375Film-coated tablets | 50097550/20.1.2/0975Approved 22 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Co-amoxiclav 625 unimed | 625Film-coated tablets | 50097650/20.1.2/0976Approved 22 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Co-amoxiclav 1000 unimed | 1000Film-coated tablets | 50097750/20.1.2/0977Approved 22 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Amoxicillin 250 portfolio EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXICILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | 53015353/20.1.2/0153 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amoxicillin 500 portfolio EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS AMOXICILLIN TRIHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO AMOXICILLIN 500,0 mg | 500 | 53015453/20.1.2/0154 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Clamoxyl PD EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMOXICILLIN A 50,0 mg | Not listed | 83/382 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Amoxicillin trihydrate
S4: Amoxicillin
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 5238
Pharmacological class: Penicillins. (class 20.1.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.