Amiodarone
Sold as Arycor, Hexarone, Bio-amiodarone, Amiotach, Amiodarone iv biotech, Amiodarone iv activo, Amiodarone accord, Myorythm, Amizyd, Azyron, Amiodarone PHARMC, Rathmicor, Amiodarone oethmaan, Sabax amiodarone, Adcorone, Cordarone x, Cordarone x intravenous
(2-Butyl-1-benzofuran-3-yl)-[4-[2-(diethylamino)ethoxy]-3,5-diiodophenyl]methanone
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 2157.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 15
- Registrations
- 23
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd1 of 3 cancelled | Arycor, Cordarone x | 100, 150mg/3ml, 200 | 320513, 320514, P0165 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Hexarone | 100, 200 | 320650, 320651 | S4 | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Bio-amiodarone, Amiodarone iv biotech | 50, 200 mg | 340119, 440189 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Amiotach | Not stated | 420035 | S4 | None |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Amiodarone iv activo | Not stated | 530332 | S4 | None |
| Accord Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Amiodarone accord | 30 mg | 550465 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Myorythm | 100, 200 | 560549, 560550 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Zydus Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Amizyd, Azyron | 100, 200 | 580097, 580098, 580099, 580100.098 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacorp (Pty) Ltd | Amiodarone PHARMC | 150 mg/3 ml | 590008 | S4 | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Rathmicor | 150 mg/3 ml | 590127 | S4 | None |
| Hexal Pharma (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelled | Hexarone | 150 mg/3 ml | A390155 | S4 | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Amiodarone oethmaan | 150 mg/3 ml | A390156 | S4 | None |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | Sabax amiodarone | 150 mg/3 ML | A390319 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Adcorone | Not stated | A390321 | S4 | None |
| Sanofi Industries South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Cordarone x intravenous | Not stated | S0384 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arycor 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg | 100 | 32051332/6.2/0513 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Arycor 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 mg | 200 | 32051432/6.2/0514 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hexarone 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg | 100 | 32065032/6.2/0650 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hexarone 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 mg | 200 | 32065132/6.2/0651 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bio-amiodarone EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 mg | 200 mgTablets. | 34011934/6.2/0119Approved 15 March 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Amiotach EACH 3,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | Not listed | 42003542/6.2/0035 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Amiodarone 50 iv biotech EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 50,0 mg | 50 | 44018944/6.2/0189 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amiodarone iv activo EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | Not listed | 53033253/6.2/0332 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amiodarone 30 mg/ml prefilled syringe accord EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMIODARONE 30,0 mg | 30 mgSolution for injection/infusion in a pre-filled syringe | 55046555/6.2/0465Approved 6 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Myorythm 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg | 100Tablets. | 56054956/6.2/0549Approved 6 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Myorythm 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200 mg | 200Tablets. | 56055056/6.2/0550Approved 6 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Amizyd 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg | 100 | 58009758/6.2/0097 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amizyd 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 mg | 200 | 58009858/6.2/0098 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Azyron 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 100,0 mg | 100 | 58009958/6.2/0099.097 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Azyron 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200,0 mg | 200 | 580100.09858/6.2/0100.098 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Amiodarone 150 mg/3 ML PHARMC EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | 150 mg/3 ml | 59000859/6.2/0008 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Rathmicor 150 mg/3 ML EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | 150 mg/3 ml | 59012759/6.2/0127 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hexarone 150 mg/3 ML EACH 3,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | 150 mg/3 ml | A390155A39/6.2/0155 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Amiodarone 150 mg/3 ML oethmaan EACH 3,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | 150 mg/3 ml | A390156A39/6.2/0156 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Sabax amiodarone 150 mg/3 ML each 3,0 ML solution CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | 150 mg/3 ML | A390319A39/6.2/0319 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adcorone EACH 3,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150,0 mg | Not listed | A390321A39/6.2/0321 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cordarone x 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 200 mg | 150mg/3mlInjection | P0165P/6.2/165Approved 12 April 2021 | Cancelled | S4 | PIPIL |
| Cordarone x intravenous EACH 3 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: AMIODARONE HYDROCHLORIDE 150 mg | Not listed | S0384S/6.2/384 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Amiodarone hydrochloride
S4: Amiodarone
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 5230
Pharmacological class: Cardiac depressants. (class 6.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Bio-amiodarone, Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.